Review: The Killing Season by Meg Collett

tks

The Killing Season
(Fear University, 2)
by Meg Collett

officialsynopIn the far Alaskan north, there are places the winter sun cannot reach. Places where light won’t shine for months. These are the places we hunt the monsters who feed on fear.

So begins the Killing Season.

For the next sixty-five days, we will face the darkness. Some will hunt the aswangs in the ever night, but I, Ollie Andrews, am here for one purpose: to search for answers to my past.

They told us to fear the arctic tundra and the monsters hiding in the deep, dark shadows. But, locked inside a base known for driving even the best hunters mad, I fear it’s not the outside we should worry about, but the deepest, darkest parts of ourselves.

The real monsters are within.

When a brutal murder brings with it the secrets of Fear University—and the threat of an unknown killer on the loose—we all must fight to stay alive. But with madness and paranoia setting in during a whiteout snowstorm, all we can do is hope we don’t destroy ourselves before the sun finally rises again. Because no matter how hard we fight, reality will always threaten to tear us apart.

And when faced with the most terrible of truths, even the strongest break.

officialreview

… and the wait is over.. She’s back. The the killer, the warrior, the girl who felt no pain, the monster within.

Ollie Andrews is back. And things get shadier and shadier now that Ollie finally learns about her true nature. She and Luke are sent to Barrow, along with other hunters, including Sunny and Hatter and Thad. Luke’s menacing father Killian Aultstriver wants Ollie to investigate the mole in their group. But what she discovers is far more complicated than she ever thought.

And the conspiracies are getting really scarier than ever. The truth about Ollie’s mom and dad. The truth about Killian and Dean. The truth about Thad and Coldcrow. And the reality that Luke must face.

Sunny and Hatter are also back – oh I love this pair. The little dictator and the cunning hunter. I love how Hatter gets so worried about Sunny. She brings out the romantic side of him. And I love how Sunny’s really protective of Ollie even after she learns the truth about her friend. That made me like Sunny even more.

killingseason

I can’t really express the emotions I felt in this book. I was giddy when Luke declared his feelings, I was mad at Coldcrow, I was shocked by Thad’s confession, I was mesmerized by Hatter and Sunny and I felt too much anger at Max and Killian. I want to kill them. I want them to die. Ugh!

I immensely love this series and the sheer awesomeness of Meg Collett. I can’t wait to get my hands on the third book! I’m broken until I see Ollie again!

In Fear University, readers are introduced to the aswang, a day-walker and evil shape-shifter that is a cross between a vampire, werewolf, ghoul and a witch. In Killing Season, the Kapre is mentioned – a tree demon that holds a large cigar, intent on scaring wanderers until they get lost. I wonder if the “manananggals” would appear soon. Meg?

My Rating: 

5cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

