Review: Explicitly Yours by Mika Jolie

Explicitly Yours
A Platonically Complicated Novella
by Mika Jolie

Marriage.
The final frontier. The end of dating. The number one cause of divorce.

I bet you every man who is about to take the plunge experiences a wide range of feelings. As a guy, whose wedding day is only seven days away, I know this.

Anxiety—Nerves are kicking in. Yeah, even confident, cocky guys like me are bound to face nuptial stage fright.

Let’s face it, forever is kind of a long time, right?

Excitement—Coriander and I are going to make it official. I’m marrying my best friend, the one I laugh with, live for, dream with.

Nothing can top this moment.

That is until I got the biggest surprise of my life…

 

 

Coriander Phillips and Dean Conrad Morello are soon to be married. Yes, finally! The man who was always surrounded by a bevy of beauties was finally tying the knot with his beloved, with his best friend. Almost twenty years of friendship and in less than three months, they decided it was time. If you thought this was kind of rushed, I assure you, it’s not.

Years and years of platonic relationship had finally took up a notch and now they couldn’t wait to make it official. But there’s one thing that they couldn’t agreed on, a crucial decision that they had to bear responsibility for the rest of their lives. A responsibility that Dean was scared to even think about. Everything was running smoothly until they finally realize what they were getting into.  It’s five days before their wedding…. is Dean really ready to settle down amidst his fears?

A few months ago, I met Cori and Dean in The Boyfriend and fell in love with the reformed player. There’s something about guys who admit their insecurities and mishaps and failures and dreams. That something was what drawn me to Dean.

In Explicitly Yours, the same annoying yet charming narrative greeted me, Dean airing his dirty laundry while admiring his fiance’s physique. Other readers may find him obnoxious and egotistical – me, I found him honest, adorable, tolerable self-centered macho who’s got stars and hearts in his eyes. Cori was lucky to have him.

And oh, don’t remind me of those hot and heavy scenes that happened between the couple. I’m telling you, I couldn’t handle the heat! Whew!

Anyway, I love how Cori and Dean grew as mature and responsible adults. I love how they got a very strong support system, too. I just wish the other characters were given more spotlight, but maybe, they’ll be having their own books soon, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Once again, Mika Jolie turned me into a mushy, giggly hopeless romantic overnight. She always knows how to make my day right. She always knows how to tell an honest-to-goodness story without making me sleepy. I would read everything this author writes and I will never get tired of her writing. That’s how much I love Mika Jolie!

