Review: Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

Black Lies
by Alessandra Torre

 

Brant:
Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years. Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.

Lee:
Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his body. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not.

Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.

If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.

Brant Sharp made millions at the age of twenty out of his basement tinkling with his computer. A genius introvert who only entertained female guests that his aunt Jillian approved of, he lived a rather extraordinary life in a plain surrounding. Decent, reasonable, focus, quiet. Until her met the extraordinary Layana Fairmont.

But there’s another guy in Layana’s life – Lee. Seductive, arrogant, out of control, jealous. Brant’s extreme counterpart, but Layana still fell for him despite his flaws.

Two different men, one confused heart, one deceptive aunt. They all lived in lies, and through those lies, will they all survive?

This has been literally mind-blowing!

Victory is mine. I grinned, giving myself a virtual high five, and put my Mercedes into drive. Pulling onto the screet, I headed south. Maybe after my massage, I’d swing by my boyfriend’s office. Drop off a sandwich for him. Celebrate my victory with the other man in my life.

Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.

Normally, I don’t read books with cheating spouses/lovers. I couldn’t tolerate the audacity of the person committing infidelity and dishonesty. When I saw this book, I didn’t exactly read the synopsis nor any reviews about it, I just downloaded it on a whim because it was by Alessandra Torre. (Yes, I’m a fan!) So I went blind going through the book.

Somehow after reading the prologue, I had second thoughts reading the book. But I told myself, I’d be a fool if I let a measly paragraph decide my reading. Plus, this is a Torre book, and I’ve never been disappointed by her before. So armed with a coffee and donut on my side table, I devoured every page of Black Lies.

“He was everything I didn’t expect. Quietly confident, Unassuming, Gorgeous.”

And boy was this an unassuming gorgeous book! I couldn’t stop reading right after the first chapter. At the back of my mind, I already knew that Layana was going to be a cheater, but something told me to give her the benefit of the doubt. I wanted to know why would she resort to that tactic and how could she sleep at night knowing this predicament.

This has been mentally exhausting, and if you know me, I was already formulating a lot of hypothesis on my mind, digging into Brant’s, Lee’s and Lana’s skulls. And I was rewarded when I got the lies right. Yep, I already had an idea about the secrets surrounding the characters, but I wasn’t prepared with the consequences it had entailed.

Did I like the book? Yes! Did I enjoy theΒ clusterfuck of events? Yes! Did I love Brant or Lee? Yes and yes.. Who would I choose then? I have no idea, but hear me out. I wouldn’t mind getting tangled with both of them too. Lucky Layana indeed!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Black Lies by Alessandra Torre

Leave a Reply

