Review: [Duology] Going Down and Man Candy by Elise Sax

Going Down and Man Candy

(Wish Upon A Stud #1-2)

by Elise Sax

Book 1: Going Down:
Marion MacAlister wants to nail her audition, not get nailed. Truly. Honestly. All right…maybe she does want to get nailed, but that’s just because her hottie landlord and local diner owner Mack Ryan is confusing her. Can friends become lovers? Especially friends who might not even be friends in the first place?

Book 2: Man Candy:
Raine Harper is in love with Wade Gates. But Wade likes women who are model thin, and Raine is model thin plus a whole lot of pounds. Desperate to make him love her, she trains just a little too hard and passes out in the arms of superstar movie star Dirk Adams. Dirk thinks Raine’s junk in the trunk is perfect and proposes to make Wade jealous by becoming her pretend boyfriend. Pretend soon seems very real. Is Dirk a great actor, or is something really developing between Raine and the movie star?

I think I finally found my new favorite author who could make me cackle out loud, cry hard and roll on the floor dying with laughing spasms. I had the impression that the author Elise Sax is actually a comedienne, and she had me laughing like there’s no tomorrow with this book.

The first story, Going Down was downright hilarious, Marion McAlister was a walking disaster. She wished upon Esperanza’s wishing well to nail her acting audition but ended up getting stuck inside the elevator, with Mack Ryan, her landlord, food provider, best friend all rolled into one.

Mack, oh Mack.. I don’t get Marion’s issues with him.. She’s been using blinders for the past two years, ignoring Mack’s discreet advances and sultry looks. If I were Marion, I’d get his number immediately and stop throwing furtive glances at him. But Marion’s hilarity was what made her real and hysterically funny. I can’t get over her mishaps around Mack, from the elevator to the convenience store, up to the fishing boat. This girl is mad and I love her!

Book 2, Man Candy was fun fun fun!! Can’t imagine getting naked in front of a man actually, what more in front of a movie star? But Raine Harper wasn’t interested with Dirk Adams. Her mind and heart was all out for Wade Gates, and she had been training nonstop to become the model thin woman Wade usually went after. Dirk Adams would just have to back down… Or not.

These two short stories are simply fantastic! I enjoyed every moment of it. I read them both in one sitting and I believe In have never laughed as hard before. Marion was a hoot while Mack Ryan was a darling! Raine Harper was amusing while Dirk Adams was a sweetheart. Two perfect matches in wishing well haven!

I loved that these were short endearing stories, Elise Sax easily relieved my stress and added laugh lines to my face, but I’m not complaining. I can’t wait to read the other knee-slapping stories soon!

Leave a Reply

