Review: Shut Up and Kiss Me by Jessica Lemmon

Shut Up and Kiss Me (Lost Boys #2)
by Jessica Lemmon

Cade: I tried. I really tried. I should be out of this small town by now, finishing my law degree and partnering up with my buddies, but I couldn’t resist one last street race. Now I’m sidelined in the hospital, and while my injuries will heal, I’m not so sure my voice will return. What kind of attorney can’t talk? Yeah, exactly. I’m afraid that I won’t be able to come back from this… until Tasha Montgomery reawakens every competitive bone in my body.

Tasha: I nearly watched Cade Wilson die on that lonely stretch of road. He’s damn lucky just to be alive, even if he doesn’t realize it. I know he’s destined for bigger and better things, but I don’t mind helping him get there as he relearns everything he took for granted. Cade’s a good student, a real perfectionist; I can tell how much his stutter bothers him. But when he lets his kisses do the talking, everything else disappears. And one day, maybe he’ll be able to tell me that he wants me—as much as I want him.

O.M.G..

This was really something I won’t forget and would still be rereading in the months to come. Holy guacamole! I was at a loss for words after reading this book.. Just like Cade Wilson was.. But now that I have recovered, let’s proceed with this kissing stuff..

 

I mentioned in my Instagram post before, it has been such a long time since I read a story about a man having difficulties with his speech. Last time I read one was years ago, with Colleen Hoover’s Maybe Someday, which is my all-time favorite book by CoHo. Ridge and Sydney’s unforgettable romance got me speechless in the end.

Shut Up and Kiss Me left me breathless as well. I thought Cade Wilson deserved what happened to him, because he was quite the rude annoying bad boy in the beginning. Oh boy, I was a fool thinking about it. I was so wrong and judgmental and quick to assume the worst about Cade. Thank goodness, Tasha Montgomery shed the light for me.

Tasha may be the rich girl on the block, with a father giving everything she needed and wanted. You’d think he was a doting loving father, but let me tell, he wasn’t at all, not even close. And Tasha didn’t want to be dependent on him all her life. She wanted to prove that she could be someone else and could stand on her own, without her father’s wealth and indiscretions.

Cade was in a horrific car accident that left him speechless… literally. He stopped talking when he began to form speech defects, like stuttering and faltering on words. So his father had hired Tasha to help him with his issues. Except Tasha wasn’t a speech therapist, no, but she went above and beyond to help Cade regain what he lost.

Slowly Cade recouped and recovered, but his anger management issues caused him to falter and attack Tasha, verbally, painfully. All hopes for a better Cade Wilson were lost, and I couldn’t blame Tasha for giving up hope.

This story was beautifully written and the characters were amazingly depicted. I loved the angst and trepidation that Cade protrayed. I loved Tasha’s stubbornness and tenacity with her patient’s situation. I loved how they both endured the unnecessary burdens they  were struggling with. I loved how the author made the scenes go from dramatic to crazy and then steamy and sweet, leaving the reader gasped for breath and tongue-tied.

And yes, this is probably one of my favorite reads this year. Shut Up and Kiss Me is the second book in the Lost Boys series, but I assure you I will read the first one soon and then the next books to come.

Now, I have to say bye for now and let me and my hubby get back to kissing please… Hmm, where were we, hon?

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Shut Up and Kiss Me by Jessica Lemmon

Leave a Reply

