Review: Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

Royally Screwed (Royally #1)
by Emma Chase

Nicholas Arthur Frederick Edward Pembrook, Crowned Prince of Wessco, aka His Royal Hotness, is wickedly charming, devastatingly handsome, and unabashedly arrogant; hard not to be when people are constantly bowing down to you.

Then, one snowy night in Manhattan, the prince meets a dark haired beauty who doesn’t bow down. Instead, she throws a pie in his face.

Nicholas wants to find out if she tastes as good as her pie, and this heir apparent is used to getting what he wants.

Dating a prince isn’t what waitress Olivia Hammond ever imagined it would be.

There’s a disapproving queen, a wildly inappropriate spare heir, relentless paparazzi, and brutal public scrutiny. While they’ve traded in horse drawn carriages for Rolls Royces, and haven’t chopped anyone’s head off lately, the royals are far from accepting of this commoner.

But to Olivia, Nicholas is worth it.

Nicholas grew up with the whole world watching, and now Marriage Watch is in full force. In the end, Nicholas has to decide who he is and, more importantly, who he wants to be: a King… or the man who gets to love Olivia forever.

 

I am not quite myself today. Early on, I was getting displeased at a certain prince, wondered if I would be able to tolerate him. And then in the end, I found myself sobbing like a kitten who lost her mitten and then I began to cry.. (wait, that sounds like a nursery rhyme!)

Oh well, please, allow me some moments to indulge in His Royal Hotness, as I still have a royal hangover from Emma Chase’s enigmatic prince. And do forgive me for acting like a fool in this review, as I believe this one deserve to be tackled at length.

At first glance, at first meet, at first impression, Prince Nicholas Pembrook came off as an annoying, obnoxious, irritating prince with unsavory character. I thought he was going to be that typical bad boy royal who thought so highly of himself, but halfway through the book, my thoughts about him turned upside down. A royal with a heart, a prince with sense of humor, a brother torn between duties and family and love.

Olivia Hammond had it hard and difficult. Her life seemed to be at shambles ever since her mother died and her father broke down from heartache. Her little firecracker of a sister Ellie was the one thing that got her up and running in their quiant coffeeshop, Amelia’s, even when it was on the verge of foreclosure. (I thoroughly love Ellie, by the way!)

And then she met this prince who thought so highly of himself, offered her a thousand euros for a kiss. If you were in Olivia’s shoes, would you decline the offer, or go kiss and tell?

I can’t believe this is just the first time I read a book by Emma Chase. Why, why, why? What have I been reading my entire life?

One moment I was okay, the next minute I was tearing up inside. I don’t know how to handle these princes of Wessco. At first I thought I’d see Nicholas and Henry as the laidback versions of Prince William and Prince Harry of Wales. Mostly of their family tragedy and military involvement and party-party inclinations. But the moment Nicholas brought Olivia to Wessco and introduced her to the palace, I stopped comparing the royals and saw Nick at a whole new light. He’s amazing. He’s fantastic. He’s everything I’ve ever dreamed of. And he’s everything I’d never get. (Lucky bloke!)

And Prince Henry… my goodness! I was so wrong about him at the beginning. I thought he was immature and insensitive. But when he poured out his heart, I cried along with him. I can’t wait to read what happens to him after Nicholas dropped the bomb at his feet. O.M.G.

And Olivia, you feisty American gal, how could you be so much lucky. I’d love to trade places with you one day, have a taste of living in the palace and being with His Royal Hotness himself 24/7. How would you like that?

Emma Chase, I am so sorry I haven’t read your past books. I am so sorry I had put off reading Royally Screwed two months ago when I got it on my Kindle. I am so sorry for the stars in my eyes whenever I see Nicholas on that book cover. I am so sorry for acting like a silly little girl right now. I bet Queen Lenora won’t approve of my behavior. But I am not sorry for falling in love with your story and for falling hard for Nicholas. And I am sure, I won’t be sorry meeting Prince Henry real soon.

Thank you Emma for this has been a royal rollercoaster ride and I love riding every minute of it.

Now, please let me find Nicholas’ Calvin Kleins before I go to sleep… uhm wait… he doesn’t wear CKs OMG!!! *hides face*

2 thoughts on “Review: Royally Screwed by Emma Chase

Leave a Reply

