Children’s Book Review: LEARNING with Piaras O Cionnaoith

Let’s sit back and relax a bit and enjoy being a kid for once in our lifetime. I took some time out from reading fantasy and YA/NA books and focused on my kids’ learning needs. You see, aside from being a coffee addict and a bookworm, I am also first and foremost, a mother to my three handsome boys. The youngest just turned 5 and is starting school. I got hold of this wonderful kiddie books with illustrations by Piaras O Cionnaoith and I’d like to share with you my boy’s experience in this Learning series.

Learning My ABCs – ANIMALS

I got this book for my kid who’s currently in kindergarten whose world basically revolves around ABCs nowadays. I myself like this book because it’s very educational and helpful.

My youngest is enjoying every bit of the alphabet and was amazed to learn about the other animals he hadn’t heard about like the xenops. This sure put a smile to his face and had even used it as a trivia to his older brothers. Winner!

 

Learning My Drawing  (STEP-BY-STEP DRAWING TUTORIALS FOR CHILDREN)

I am actually loving this book! When I was a kid, I loved drawing and I dreamt of becoming either an architect or an artist and my mother encouraged me. I joined poster-making contests but I didn’t win ant because my drawing wasn’t good enough.

Now I see my youngest taking interest in drawing too. This book is just what we need for our weekly bonding moment. Love the numbered steps on how to draw animals and flowers. My favorites were the stegosaurus and pterodactyls. My child loves drawing the train and snail. This book is perfect!

Learning My Letters – (Basic Writing Skills A-Z)

This has been such a great help to me and my five year old son. Everyday, I train his hands in writing by spelling out his name on a piece of paper. But somehow, he always get bored easily when he repeatedly writes the same words over and over again. He’s already familiar with the alphabet but not so with various words.

When I got him Piaras O Cionnaoith’s Learning My Letters, I printed the pages and gave it to my son. His eyes brightened up and immediately started writing on the pages, outlining and writing the words that start with A, B, C to Z.. I love that he gets excited whenever he writes and understands what he is writing because there are images of the words on the book. The pictures truly help kids in identifying the words and they get an easier grasp of the words that they learn about. Thanks so much Piaras for this book!

Learning my Words (Picture book, Basic Word Learning Skills)

I’m pleased to say that my child learned reading at an earlier age than most kids. I was even pleased when I go this book, Learning My Words by Piaras O Cionnaoith because my youngest son continued to learn new words / vocabulary. Now when I ask him for words that start with a certain letter, he gives me words that he don’t usually encounter everyday.

For example, before, when I ask him to give me words that start with A, he always answered Apple. But now, with this book, he tells me Anchor or Astronaut. Same goes with other letters. Now he knows about Broccoli, capsules, microscope, platypus and so much more.

I also loved that the book contains explanatory notes for teacher/parents that can be used as guides for kids. This book is awesome!

2 thoughts on “Children’s Book Review: LEARNING with Piaras O Cionnaoith

Leave a Reply

