Review: Condemned by Hayley Oakes

Condemned
by Hayley Oakes

For eight years, I’ve lived with the scars left by him.

William Devereux consumed me until I didn’t know where I ended and he began … I tried to forget but I was forever changed.

And now he’s back.

Gone is the aggressive hothead who hurt me and set my body on fire in equal measure, replaced with a responsible, doting, single father.

I’m trying my best to remain unaffected.

He’s trying his best to make amends.

Sometimes the one thing you shouldn’t want, is the one thing you can’t breathe without.

Since they were kids, William and Jessa had lived next door, were once friends along with Will’s brothers. But something’s changed in high school, when Will suddenly got envious of Jessa and her family. Will resented everything Jessa had and sure made a hell out of her life. He made her fall for him, seduced her, claimed her and soon trampled on her fragile heart. She trusted him, he betrayed her. She loved him, he ruined her.

Eight years after, their paths met again. Jessa’s a big time TV personality and Will was raising a child. The past kept haunting them, but Jessa’s none the wiser. She would never ever let Will break her again. She’d never fall prey to this predator ever again. She would never…. ever…. ever again.. Won’t she?

This is a story of second chances, of acceptance and forgiveness, of the past and the present, of love and lust. I was so consumed with my own hatred with the teenage Will that I wasn’t as forgiving as Jessa did when they finally crossed paths again. I, personally, am not really into giving second chances. There’d been a time when I’ve been hurt and cheated on, I forgave that person once, twice but the third time he did it, I called it quits. I didn’t want to be fooled again.

When Will showed some remorse the next time he saw Jessa, I secretly wanted to throttle Jessa, told her “never again”. But apparently, my silent screams fell on deaf ears.

So far, at the end of the story, there was a tear in my eye. I don’t know what happened. Seemed like I instantly condemned Will at the beginning and now I finally understood what transpired along the way. I thought the ending was perfect, illuminating and simple. Not too grand, not too excessive, not to loud. I loved the way the epilogue was done, suits Jessa very well. Hayley Oakes had managed to surprise me in the end and that’s a great deal to me. Would love to read more of her stories soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

