5 stars · book choice of the month · book reviews · contemporary romance · New Adult

Review: The Boy Friend by Mika Jolie

The Boy Friend by Mika Jolie

According to the law of attraction, women and men can’t be friends.

Contrary to this myth, my friendship with Coriander Phillips does not rest on unrequited love or un-actualized lust. We’ve been inseparable since the day I pulled one of her pigtails and she punched me in the gut.

She’s hilarious, fun to hang out with. Together, we’re like peanut butter and jelly, spaghetti and meatballs, wings and beer. A match made in heaven.

She’s the bomb.

Did I mention she’s smokin’ hot? I’ve checked her out…maybe once or twice. Hey, I’m a guy.

Seriously, no awkwardness, no secret yearning for our relationship to escalate beyond the purely platonic. I’m the boy friend—the loyal shoulder she cries on, the dispenser of coffee, sympathy, hugs, advice, and affection with no expectations.

Until the invisible line between friends and lovers became blurry.

Now I want more. I want her.

All I have to do is convince her we can be more than friends.

Right?

If only it were that easy.

Cori tells Dean that she wants a baby. With the man that she loves. And build a family later on.

But to set things straight, let me tell you. Dean Conrad Morello isn’t Coriander Philips’ boyfriend. Nor lover. They were just friends. Best friends since age seven. Best friends forever.

How can Cori have a baby in the future? Simple – create an online dating profile and go on dates with the eligible bachelors in town. Who knows, maybe she’ll find the one?

Dean doesn’t approve though. No matter how many times he tells himself and his friends and sister that Cori is just his friend, everyone disagrees. Protective, jealous and egoistic Dean Morello isn’t Cori’s boyfriend. He’s totally on the friendzone and that’s the limit, no one gets past that boundaries.

Until that one delicious mind blowing kiss.

Wow! I simply couldn’t put the book down once I got it on my hands. From the moment I read The Boyfriend, Dean Conrad Morello’s narrative, I was sold. The succeeding pages that followed, I was in heaven, grinning and plotting and eyes misting until the end.

This is Mika Jolie’s latest book and the best one I’ve read so far and I loved it. She’s taken the Friends-T0-Lovers trope to a whole new realistic level, the kind that makes the reader involved and had no chance but to agree to everything Dean Morello had to say. Well, for his part anyway. I loved how I finally read a whole book on a male’s point of view, learned how deeply his feelings had evolved and slowly burned for the one he could never have. Yes, most of the time, it’s the ladies’ thoughts that I read, but now, it’s this gorgeous man I got to infiltrate. I didn’t mind not knowing Cori’s state of mind, I’m a girl, I think I know how she felt in the whole debacle about friends and lovers.

Being inside Dean’s mind was both exciting and scary, if you know what I mean. He said things about men that most guys wouldn’t ever admit to doing. He got my heart when he acknowledged that most men are pigs, egocentric, thought about sex all the time. Amidst all this, I can’t help but admire his tenacity and acceptance of his flaws and humongous ego. I thought Dean was actually adorable and the perfect man to subdue Cori.

I love all the characters with all my heart. (Well, except for that Mark Donner client who was thinking with his pants and now with his mind, but he’s a minority, so let’s just leave him at that). I also loved the quick pace of the story, there wasn’t any boring scene nor dull moment with all of them, even little Emma captivated me. There were also those pieces of advice that Dean throws every now and then, plus recipe list which can come in handy sometime, and the playlist, superb music choice! And oh, my favorite part was that one night when Dean had to stand in as a model for Cori’s wine and paint class. Yeah, I’d love to be in that art class, that’s for sure.

How can I forget about the love scenes? Ahh, Cori and Dean plus bed/wall – definitely enough to make your Kindle melt. Their chemistry? Off the charts!

Mika Jolie did great in this book. I’ve been a fan since I’ve read one of the books in her Martha’s Way series, and the stand-alone, Somewhere to Begin. It’s no wonder that I love her books, she’s one talented author who gives me goosebumps and hiccups at the same time. She doesn’t sugarcoat with her words, either. I like that in a book, what you see is what you get. ‘Tis a highly recommended book to all romance junkies who want to have a great time. Worthy of my two thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

