Review: What About Today by Dawn Lanuza

What About Today
by Dawn Lanuza

Aiden’s stuck working for his family’s amusement park, Funtastic World, for the whole summer. Nothing amuses him, until he met this terrified girl.

Gemma’s stuck in Funtastic World thinking she could handle the park’s rides. She couldn’t. Good thing she met someone to guide her.

As the day comes to a close, Aiden and Gemma ask themselves if one day is ever enough to decide if they were better off as friends or strangers.

I never met a lion hugger before, not even an aspiring one. Now I’ve read about one and he’s interesting. No, scratch that. He’s purrrfect, emphasis on the purr because he loves lions and other animals. And oh, he works at an amusement park and gives tour rides to an amusing badass loner named Gemma. So I really think he’s cool. His name is Aiden by the way.

Now, let’s talk about Gemma, who’s afraid to ride the Ferris Wheel when she assumed someone died in that monstrosity. But it’s her birthday and she wants to try out something as her quest for YOLO (you only live once). Then she meets a boy wearing a long sleeved shirt dress with a necktie looking uncomfortable and cute at the same time. Suddenly her birthday slowly unravels and becomes FUNTASTIC!

Once again, I fell in love with this short story from a talented Filipina author, Dawn Lanuza. Early this morning, (more like early dawn), I read one of her short stories Breakup Anniversary and it was awesome. It really started my day. Then I learned it was her birthday yesterday so I decided to read her other book, What About Today and again, I am impressed. Aiden and Gemma’s story is quite short but loaded. I love love love it! (This is my first time doing a back-to-back review of books written by one author which I read in one day)

It’s these simple short stories that really got me swooning and gushing these days. Ms.Lanuza’s writing is lovely, lyrical, liberating. It allows me freedom to dream and enjoy life’s pleasures through anecdotes and even pick up lines. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. I am sure I’ll be reading more of her books soon!

Review: Break-Up Anniversary by Dawn Lanuza

Break-Up Anniversary
by Dawn Lanuza

It’s Beck’s break-up anniversary! Not that she’s been counting the days but there’s a possibility of a relapse. So what’s a girl to do? Call her best friend and tag her cubicle-mate turned drinking buddy, Jamie, along for the ride.

It’s Rebecca aka Beck’s breakup anniversary.. She’s itching to know how Nat had been doing after one year. One measly email to her ex about their favorite band breaking up should relieve her of all the questions and anxieties about them, right? Megan, Beck’s bestfriend, thought otherwise. It was time to catch other fish in the sea. There’s her cubicle-mate, Jamie, who seemed to have come out from a GQ magazine. It wouldn’t hurt to throw the fishing rod, right?

OMG! – Yup, that’s me, all giddy and mushy after reading this story!

But the truth is, I’ve never been so frustrated in my life! Frustrated, in a good way, mind you. Dawn Lanuza, this is my first book from you and you ruined me already. A short story like this already had me feeling warm and sappy and grinning like a Cheshire cat and when I got to the last page, I was stumped. How could you do this to me?

I want more of Jamie and The Steadfast and Japan! Okay, I want more of Beck, too! Gosh, does anyone know if this book is a sequel or prequel to any of Lanuza’s stories? Eeep, I couldn’t contain my excitement!