book reviews · fantasy YA

Review: Non-Heir (Black Mage prequel) by Rachel E. Carter

Non-Heir (The Black Mage 0.5)
by Rachel E. Carter

Prince. Prodigy. Mage. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Novella follows Prince Darren as a child through adolescence and his first run-in with Ryiah at the Academy of Magic. Readers discover the dark backstory between the two princes and their father, as well as the ensuing events that shaped Darren into the Academy’s most prodigal mage.

I have always wondered why Prince Darren had been kind of cruel and intimidating at first with Ryiah and Ella during the First Year. I thought prince and princesses were well-bred and good mannered, given that they were set to rule kingdoms and become role models for the youth. Clearly, I was mistaken, because Darren was the kind of prince that defied all odds and resist the norms.

He was never liked by his father, Kind Lucius, he was not treated fairly well by people inside and outside the kingdom, and his own brother Prince Blayne disregarded him. All because he was a non-heir. He was always expected to follow the rules, but when he couldn’t take it anymore, he found ways to antagonize the King and aggravate him. Only, his methods mostly backfired at him.

I loved it when Darren met Eve, the knight master’s daughter. An equal adversary in combat and weaponry, Eve had soften Darren’s heart of stone and had changed the non-heir’s perspective about lowborns. Together they trained and became good friends, until Prince Blayne and the Princess of Langli were put in the picture.

Non-Heir is the prequel novella of the Black Mage series and it is really good. I loved that Rachel Carter had expounded more on Darren’s attributes and impossibly lovable character. Yes, this boy has had it real hard growing up, breaking bones and surrounded by wolves and being tortured by his own family. I couldn’t help but weep a tear for him. And Eve, my goodness, I feel so lost and hurt for her, for what was to become of her when she finally becomes an Apprentice (in the upcoming books).

Rachel E. Carter slowly made her way to the Bestselling Authors list during the release of her Black Mage series and I can’t help but feel proud of her. She’s come a long way and she continues to make it big while keeping her feet on the ground. I am now set to read the last book in the series and I am sure that this is going to be epic.

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: Non-Heir (Black Mage prequel) by Rachel E. Carter

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s