Review: Unrequited Alice by Sarah Louise Smith

Unrequited Alice
by Sarah Louise Smith

“I stared at my suitcase, contemplating the following three facts:
1.After months of planning, it was finally time for Hannah’s hen weekend.
2.In just one more month, she’d be getting married to Ed.
3.I really had to fall out of love with Ed before the wedding.”

A bridesmaid really shouldn’t be in love with the groom…but Alice just can’t help herself. Ed is her perfect man, and she can’t get him out of her head.

Until she meets Toby – who offers to help her move on. But what if he’s just setting her up for an even bigger fall?

Alice had always been in love with her oldest friend’s boyfriend, Ed. She knew she wouldn’t have any space inside his heart especially now that he was gonna marry Hannah. Tough as it was, she still organized her friend’s hen weekend in Niagara Falls, hoping to extinguish any more feelings she had for Ed.

And then she met Toby over the weekend. Toby, who was hot and cold. Toby who, like Alice, held a torch for someone else, someone like her brother’s fiance. Toby, who unconsciously crawled to Alice’s heart, making her forget about Ed, but still failing with this unrequited love.

Alice is a character I’d love to comfort and confront at the same time. This girl has got a lot of love to give, and it pains me to see her conflicted and distressed over the men who didn’t love her back. Between Ed and Toby though, I’d place my bets for Toby right from the start because he’s such a kindred soul. Hannah, her oldest friend, was unfortunately lame and selfish, I disliked her instantly, and I don’t know why.

The thing about unrequited love is, it suffocates your heart, taking it all in, somehow wishing for something that doesn’t really belong to you. Yes, such is the tragedy of unreciprocated feelings. I know, I’ve been there, I’ve wallowed in it, I’ve lucked out, and in the end, I moved on. But that’s another story.

Unrequited Alice is a light romantic story that is heavy on the feelings. The story about two people not sharing the love isn’t really new to me. Surprisingly though, in this book, I was able to relate with the main characters and felt the instant connection I don’t usually get from other books. Sarah Louise Smith got me reading this in the break of dawn and reluctantly finishing it the next day. I didn’t want to part with Alice, I didn’t want to forget about the Niagara Falls, I didn’t want to forget about the wedding dances and the flights from London to New York and vice versa.

In the end, love prevailed. How it happened, it’s up to you to work on it. Read this and you’ll know.

 

Leave a Reply

