Review: The One (Selection 3) by Kiera Cass

theoneThe One (The Selection #3)
by Kiera Cass

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

thoughts-divider

America Singer is still in the Selection, much to the chagrin of King Clarkson who wanted her eliminated. Thanks to Prince Maxon’s slow burning love for her, America finally realizes what a true princess embodies and decides to stay and fight for herself. There’s still the threats of rebellion from the Southerners who want to throw down the Kingdom and the aid of the level-headed Northerners who are willing to help them dissolve the castes. Unexpected deaths had me sniffling but the joy upon learning about Aspen’s fate was undeniable.

I think this is the perfect ending to a not-so-perfect love story. Don’t hate me on this. I really love this series. I loved how everything was put into place as the Selection went, I loved how it brought me happy tears in the end. I loved Maxon and America and Aspen, flaws and imperfection included.  Although I admit I already had an idea about America getting selected in the end, it was her journey to the crown that really pulled me into the story. I loved how Maxon selected her out of his sincere feelings for her, and not because he was buoyed or coerced to do so.

I was a little sad when this trilogy ended, but I am glad America found her happily ever after. Now I can’t wait to read about The Heir and everything else that happened after The Selection.. Yes!

coffeeratingdivider

4cups

 

5 thoughts on “Review: The One (Selection 3) by Kiera Cass

  1. I loved the series too, Claire! It was such a guilty pleasure for me, never mind the fact that people are actually having mixed reviews of the first 3 books. Are you reading America’s daughter’s book? 🙂 I did, and I wish I stopped at The One 😦 But it might work out for you! 🙂
    Happy reading! xo, Kat

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to admit to not being a fan of series and very nearly abandoned it midway through book 2. I just found America’s indecisiveness annoying and needlessly cruel to Aspen and Maxon. I also didn’t think there was enough of an explanation or detail on the rebels.

    The third book did save the series a little for me, mostly due to the ending but still a series I could probably have done without.

    I actually preferred the Heir and the Crown as I thought Eadlyn a much more likeable character. I hope if you read them you enjoy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

