Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

theelite

The Elite (The Selection #2)
by Kiera Cass

coffeesynopsisdThe Selection began with thirty-five girls.

Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

thoughts-divider

I don’t know what to feel about this sequel. It’s been told before that most often than not, the second installment to a series don’t usually live up to the beauty of the first book. With The Elite, I couldn’t help but agree. Don’t get me wrong. I like this series so much, I want to love it even more, but I have to be fair and balance with my opinion about the book.

There’d been a lot of times when I wanted to pull America’s hair because she kept on changing her mind about Maxon and Aspen. Like one minute, she’s head over heels in love with the prince, and then the second they got into an argument, she’d think she was worthless of his attentions and would come running back to Aspen’s arms. Seriously, girl, make up your damn mind! Ugh.

And Maxon… oh well, in this book, it just proved that men weren’t really known for their loyalty. I understand he’s got four ladies from the Selection and he already had told America that he’ll pick her in the end. But I didn’t expect him to smother sultry kisses and become ungentlemanly to the other girls, specifically with Celeste.. I didn’t buy his reason why he decided to get more intimate with the other girls. I just don’t.

But then again, this book still managed to draw me in and had me reading until the last page. I might have been irritated with the main characters, but the flow of the story was so good, I found myself clamoring for more. Right now, I want to start reading book 3 The One, so I could finally get the answers to some of the questions that are dancing in my head.

“It turns out I’m absolutely terrible at staying away from you. It’s a very serious problem.”

Yes, very serious problem indeed.. Because it seemed that I myself can’t stay away from this series.

coffeeratingdivider

3.5cups

 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. Oh wow! I definitely agree with you on America’s fickleness here, Ate Claire and I don’t buy Maxon’s excuse either. I was just a kinder reviewer when I read it so I rated it higher back then. Lol. But like you said, Ms. Cass has the ability to draw readers in. If there are guilty pleasures in dystopian novels, this series probably makes it to the top of the list. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

