Review: No Perfect Secret by Jackie Weger

nps

No Perfect Secret (Almost Perfect)
by Jackie Weger

coffeesynopsisdAnna Nesmith believes she has it all–a great marriage, a dream job and a home of her own. When an investigator begins asking questions, Anna’s ordered world crashes like Jenga blocks. Frank Caburn is man to the bone and manufactures testosterone like Frito Lay does chips, which seems not to impress Anna one whit as she picks through the rubble of her shattered life. Attracted to Anna, Caburn determines to make her his own–But how to tell her without tripping over a layer of secrets is beyond him. Falling in love has never been more difficult.

thoughts-dividerI couldn’t believe I did it! Finished and loved this book in a day and still wishing to be part of the Caburn family. I must admit, at first I was quite impatient with all the loose ends and mysteries throughout the first few chapters. There were a lot of trivia and what not, I thought the book contained too much information. Then as the story progressed, I got to know the characters and the scenarios had me laughing out loud in no time.

Oh man, finding out about the abominable snowman, I mean Kevin Nesmith actually got me into a whirl. Add his lunatic mom to the equation and my head imploded. I gotta hand it to Anna Elena Nesmith (nee Price) for having a good head on her shoulders, literally. This woman was a machine gun, firing off one trivia after another, gradually educating me about the Mayans and kuru and planners and teas with Scotch and wars and different countries and chicken cordon bleu.. I totally fell in love with her relationship with the people around her outside her marriage. The initially awkward and tense meeting with Frank, the warm kinship between her and feisty Lila, the weird but colorful tandem of Clarence and Jojo, the beautiful friendship from the State Department people (Helen, you’re my favorite!), and soon the hilariously casual bantering between Anna and Caburn had me smirking and grinning like a dog at the end of the book.

Jackie Weger is a gem. I found her writing very unique and comfortable and so annoyingly beautiful. No Perfect Secret is such a perfect read! I wouldn’t want it any other way. Now let me indulge in Anna’s double chocolate fudge cake which she baked and graciously shared after her wedding before Clarence aka Savannah comes back for second helping. Yum!

P.S.

I liked the fact that the characters are aged between 30-40 years and the most interesting one is 90 years old. Love love love these people!

coffeeratingdivider

5cups

Leave a Reply

