Review: Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy Cherry

LovingDaniels

Loving Mr. Daniels
by Brittainy C. Cherry

coffeesynopsisdTo Whom it May Concern,

It was easy to call us forbidden and harder to call us soulmates. Yet I believed we were both. Forbidden soulmates.

When I arrived to Edgewood, Wisconsin I didn’t plan to find him. I didn’t plan to stumble into Joe’s bar and have Daniel’s music stir up my emotions. I had no clue that his voice would make my hurts forget their own sorrow. I had no idea that my happiness would remember its own bliss.

When I started senior year at my new school, I wasn’t prepared to call him Mr. Daniels, but sometimes life happens at the wrong time for all the right reasons.

Our love story wasn’t only about the physical connection.

It was about family. It was about loss. It was about being alive. It was silly. It was painful. It was mourning. It was laughter.

It was ours.

And for those reasons alone, I would never apologize for loving Mr. Daniels.

-Ashlyn Jennings

thoughts-divider

LovingDanielsMeet Ashlyn Jennings.
Her mother didn’t love her. Her father left her when she was a child. Her sister was the only one got. But then she died when cancer took over. She’s got no one else now.

Meet Daniel Daniels.
His brother was involved with gangs and drugs. His mother died in the arms of those thugs. His father succumbed to death next. Then his girlfriend died after a car accident. He’s got no one else now.

Then she saw him. Standing from a distance. Inside a train. He had the most beautiful blue eyes she had ever seen. And in those deep blue eyes, she drowned with his voice, his music, his passion, his life.

His eyes were so blue and filled with interest. For a second, I thought they were a passageway to a different world.
Beautiful.
Breathtaking.
Brilliant.
Blue eyes.
I sighed. Maybe there were a passageway to a better world.

He couldn’t forget her. He found her reading a Shakespeare book inside a train. Her gorgeous green eyes captivated him. And in those soulful green eyes, he fell into the deep abyss of her life, her books, her intelligence, her life.

“I was lost, but so were they.
There were no maps to be found.
At least I wasn’t walking alone.”

Little did they knew that they were bound to see each other again. In school. He was the teacher. She was the student. They both had miserable lives. They both lost the ones they love. They were both hurting and trying to move on. When they met, their worlds collide. The world couldn’t have been more unfair. The world couldn’t have come at a swell time.

I don’t know why, but everytime I read a book that involves musicians and family drama, I am easily reminded of Colleen Hoover’s Maybe Someday. And when I encounter a book fulfilling bucket lists, A Walk to Remember immediately comes to my mind. These books happened to be my Top 2 Favorite Books of all time. But now, after Loving Mr. Daniels, I think I can safely declare that this is going to be the best book I’ve read in 2015 and one that I would never forget in a long time. Maybe this would be my Top 3!

“You know what I like about you so far?”
“What’s that?”
“Everything.”

Yes, absolutely everything. I loved everything in this book. From the characters, to the tragedies, to the bucket list, to the Shakespearean quotes, to the music and lyrics, to the gut-wrenching emotions, to the forbidden love affair, to the oh-so-sweet moments to the break-ups, to the real-life family drama.

“I don’t want to be your friend. I want to be yours, I want you to be mine, and I hate that we can’t be us. Because I think we were meant to be us.”

I think Brittainy Cherry is meant to write this book. I applaud her for effortlessly making me cry. I love a good book that always make me cry. As in a really ugly cry. The kind of cry that would need a lot of hankies or rolls of tissues. The kind of cry that will leave you sobbing, breathless, sniffing and crying all over again. I immediately got lost in Ms. Cherry’s world, and I had a hard time finding the way out. Loving Mr. Daniels is totally worth pouring one’s heart out.

Now, I’m going to read Art & Soul, Ms. Cherry’s other blockbuster novel, in the next few days. I can’t wait!

coffeeratingdivider

5cups

7 thoughts on “Review: Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy Cherry

Leave a Reply

