4 stars · book reviews · contemporary romance · New Adult

Review: What’s Left of Me by Amanda Maxlyn

wlom

What’s Left of Me (What’s Left of Me #1)
by Amanda Maxlyn

Life works in mysterious ways.

Four years ago I became known as the girl with cancer.

I refuse to cry.

And I refuse to give in.

A relationship with a man is the last thing I’m looking for right now, but one night with Parker changes everything. He is persistent, and he knows what he wants. Me.

He doesn’t treat me like I’m fragile.

But he doesn’t know, and I’m not ready to tell him.

What if it changes everything?

Tragedy found me when I was seventeen.

Love found me when I was twenty-one.

My name is Aundrea McCall, and this is my journey.

thoughts-divider

My throat’s clogged, my eyes are puffy and red, my nose runs like crazy. Such an ugly image, eh? Well, that’s what happens when you meet Aundrea McCall. Cancer patient. Cancer survivor.

This book just brought me back to those days when I still had my dad who was cancer stricken. Words cannot say how much I missed him, how much I wanted to be with him during his treatments, how much I wanted to see him again. Aundrea McCall made me cry an ocean. Her frequent visits to the doctor, her medicines, her hopes for a better future – all these tugged at my heartstrings.

Parker was lucky to have met her. But for how long, that’s something for all of you to find out. I just can’t bring myself to stay happy and coherent until the last page. Such a heartbreaker.

Amanda Maxlyn wrote a hard-hitting story about love, survival, courage and hope. What’s Left of Me had left me reeling, breathless and amazed. Truly a heart-rending read.

coffeeratingdivider

4cups

 

Leave a Reply

