Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

delirium1Delirium (Delirium #1)
by Lauren Oliver

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe.
I wonder whether the procedure will hurt.
I want to get it over with.
It’s hard to be patient.
It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet.
Still, I worry.
They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness.
The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

thoughts-divider

Seventeen year-old Magdalena “Lena” Haloway-Tiddle lived in a dystopian society where Amor Deliria Nervosa aka LOVE was considered a disease and it was mandatory that everyone who reached their 18 years of age should go through a special treatment in order to be cured. Lena and her bestfriend Hana were having the time of their lives, they went by the rules, they followed whatever was commanded to them, never questioned that do’s and dont’s of falling in love.

Little did Lena know that her friend actually had a secret of her own… escaping into the night, attending various parties, listening to music that were not approved by their state.

Until the day she met Alex, the boy who would make her fall in love and ignore everything else that she had believed in. Together they created a world full of emotion and delirium. And from then on, Lena’s life was never the same again.

THEY SAY that the cure for Love will make me happy and safe forever. And I’ve always believe them.
Until now.
Now everything has changed. Now, I’d rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie.
—- Lena

I have read this book when it was first published in 2011, and then re-read it a year later when talks about the book being optioned into a TV series became viral. I had already joined a group of Invalids in several forums at that time, exctied at that thought that Lena, Alex and Julian would come to life. Oh and Emma Roberts was slated to star as Lena at that time, so I was really looking forward to the TV show.

Sadly though, this never materialized because FoxTV rejected the pilot episode. Ugh. I was really angry at Fox at that time.

When Delirium was first published in 2011, I was still very much in love with Katniss Everdeen and I thought Hunger Games was the best dystopian novel I have ever read. Apparently, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium took the second spot on my Best Dystopian list. I honestly couldn’t bring myself to stop scanning the pages after knowing about this dreaded disease. And as crazy as it is, people condemn those who fall and fell in love because it is dreaded and can lead to your demise.

Well, well, well… If falling in love caused death, I’ve died a million times already!!

Delirium took my breath away. With every scene.. with every spectacle.. Every page was as intense as the previous page, keeping me on my seat. I applaud Lauren Oliver for creating a world that felt so real and surreal. She’s a brilliant writer and a fantastic storyteller. I may still have to read her first book, Before I Fall, which had received so much praise before, but I think, reading Delirium was just as fascinating and dazzling!

coffeeratingdivider

4cups

3 thoughts on “Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

  1. Aw. I love this review so much, Ate Claire especially this part. “Well, well, well… If falling in love caused death, I’ve died a million times already!!”. hahaha! It’s weird because a lot my GR friends didn’t enjoy this. I understand the pacing could be slow and the tone could be heavy but like you, I really liked it too. The entire series played with my emotions especially that wretched love triangle which later turned to square. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

