Review: Self-Serve Murder by D.E. Haggerty

Self Serve Murder
(Death by Cupcakes # 3)
by D.E. Haggerty

ssmCozy mystery
Date Published: December 5, 2016

coffeesynopsisd

Kristie is kind with a capital K, so it’s quite the surprise when she wakes up next to a dead man with no recollection of the previous night. Even worse? She’s naked. Kristie may be a sweetheart out to save the world, but sticking her nose into an investigation of rapes across campus makes her the target of a murderer. Before she knows it, Callie is smack dab in the middle of a murder investigation with her colleagues Callie and Anna. If that’s not enough to drive a sane person up the wall, a friend has decided he’s going to keep her safe whether she wants him to or not. And, oh yeah, he’s her man and that’s that.

Come join us at Callie’s Cakes, where murder investigations are on the menu. You are most welcome, but you may need to serve yourself as our barista Kristie is busy trying to save the world.

Warning: Although there are plenty of moments that will make you shake your head and laugh at the antics of the ladies of Callie’s Cakes, the subject matter – rape on college campuses – is very real and somewhat darker than your usual cozy mystery.

thoughts-dividerWhat would you do if you wake up naked and have no recollection on how you ended up in your own bed? And what would you do if you wake up with a dead body beside you?

Creepy right?

Well, this was what happened to Kristie after a hazy night at a frat party. With no idea who the dead man beside her was, she called up her boss and baker friends and together they tried to solve a mystery as bitter as coffee and as dark as chocolate. Yum, yum!

ssmOh yes! The girls of Callie’s Cakes are back and this time, it’s Kristie on the menu. I mean, on the spotlight. It’s up to her to save the world with her expert barista skills and her two troublesome boss-friends, Callie & Anna, to whip up the mystery surrounding a guy’s death and solve the string of rape crimes in the university. I loved Callie in her first book (Never Trust a Skinny Baker) and she was really a damn fine young lady with a know-it-all attitude. And I love her. Anna, their tiny pink pixie-haired baker was hilarious. She bounced wherever whenever whatever, and her sleuthing skills was downright fun to discover. Callie & Anna’s better halves and cop/protectors, Ben and Logan were not so bad either. These police officers can arrest me anytime, so search warrants needed.

And now, Kristie, the coffee addict, coffee maker, coffee lover rich daughter who worked at a Youth Center and in the bakery, who steadily told everyone that she didn’t need a man or to be in a relationship, and whose main goal was to save the abused women from the crutches of a serial rapist. (okay, that was a mouthful.. let me sip coffee first… )

What she did not expect though, was a man who would call her baby every chance he got. I call him Man of Steel though, given his hunky physique and sexy character. I get that he was instantly attracted to Kristie, but I wasn’t much into their “you sleep on the couch, I sleep on my room” situation on their first day of meeting. For all I know, Tyler could be the rapist! He was a complete stranger for fudge’s sake! Although I couldn’t fault the girls to ogle him because he was really gorgeous and manly and handsome and hottie and hunk and did I say hottie? But still, I thought theirs was a whirlwind kind of affair.

And the clues and evidences they were gathering for their sleuthing exploits, hmmm, let me just say, it was really better if they let the cops do their jobs. Because I wasn’t really solved with Kristie’s investigating skills. Even Callie and Anna’s meddling didn’t surprise me this time. Although Anna’s rear getting spanked was a sight that cracked me up LOL.

Overall, this had been another exciting and laughter-filled cozy mystery by DE Haggerty. This author never fails to impress me. I’ve read almost all her books and I would continue supporting her because I love her stories and her writing skills and amusing sweet tales. Self-Serve Murder is a whole pink swirls of buttercream goodness!

coffeeratingdivider

4cups


About the Author
D.E. HAGGERTY


I grew up reading everything I could get my hands on from my mom’s Harlequin romances to Nancy Drew to Little Women. When I wasn’t flipping pages in a library book, I was penning horrendous poems, writing songs no one should ever sing, or drafting stories which have thankfully been destroyed. College and a stint in the U.S. Army came along, robbing me of free time to write and read, although I did manage, every once in a while, to sneak a book into my rucksack between rolled up socks, MRIs, t-shirts, and cold weather gear. After surviving the army experience, I went back to school and got my law degree. I jumped ship and joined the hubby in the Netherlands before the graduation ceremony could even begin. A few years into my legal career, I was exhausted, fed up, and just plain done. I quit my job and sat down to write a manuscript, which I promptly hid in the attic after returning to the law. But being a lawyer really wasn’t my thing, so I quit (again!) and went off to Germany to start a B&B. Turns out being a B&B owner wasn’t my thing either. I decided to follow the husband to Istanbul for a few years where I managed to churn out book after book. But ten years was too many to stay away from ‘home’. I packed up again and moved to The Hague where I’m currently working on my next book. I hope I’ll always be working on my next book.

Author Links

 Purchase Links

Amazon  | Smashwords  |  Barnes and Noble | Kobo

 Tour Host:
 photo readingaddictionbutton_zps58fd99d6.png
4 thoughts on “Review: Self-Serve Murder by D.E. Haggerty

Leave a Reply

