5 stars · book choice of the month · book reviews · contemporary romance · favorite books · New Adult

Review: Keepers by Meg Collett

keepers

Keepers (Canaan Island, 2)
by Meg Collett

coffeesynopsisdStevie Reynolds was a buzz-worthy reality star before moving to Canaan Island to escape Los Angeles and her fame-hungry parents. But not all her demons, like her penchant for wine and bad decisions, are escapable.

Completely broke and fresh out of rehab after her DUI, Stevie gets an offer from her hotshot LA ex to star in his home renovation show with Canaan’s favorite son, Cade Cooper. Stevie returns to the reality business for Cade, who’s relying on the show to help pay for his mother’s cancer treatments.

Stevie refuses to break Cade’s sensitive heart, but she can’t keep herself from falling for his kind smile and easy laugh. When the producers push her to risk her shaky sobriety and Cade’s credibility for the sake of ratings, Stevie is ready to quit—until her ex threatens to reveal an intimate secret from her past.

If her secret is leaked, Stevie will lose everything she loves on Canaan Island, including Cade.

thoughts-dividerOnce again, Meg Collett blew me away! I’ve read the first book, Fakers, a few months back and I liked it, I liked Kyra Averdeen and I LOVED Hale Cooper. I thought they were already up there on my Top 10 favorite book couples.

But Stevie Reynolds and Cade Cooper have nicked their spots. I thought Kyra’s life was already disastrous, but Stevie’s was way way more messed up. Nevertheless, it was her fighting spirit, firmer resolve and maturity that made me liked her even more than Kyra. My stuttering, passionate and gentle Cade… Well, his older brother Hale was definitely a hottie and a big man to boost, but I also fell for the younger one who was quite the opposite. Cade was like the kind of man that you would proudly present to your parents (and Hale would be the one the moms would want for themselves, LOL).

Storywise, I thought Stevie’s story is darker and nastier, IMO. But she’s a fighter, something that dainty and bubbly Kyra really wasn’t. Her breakdown, her drunken fit, her rehab stint – these only made her stronger and admirable. I dunno why but I really liked her. Stevie’s parents, on the other hand, as well as her ex-lover were the kind of people you wouldn’t want to know nor get acquainted with, even if they were famous reality stars. Nah, the world is a better place without them.

For me, this book reflects the reality of life, of the choices we have to weigh in, of the pains we have to endure, of the fears we have to conquer, and the decisions that we have to make in the end. Stevie’s struggles may have been messy, but it was the kind of mess that everyone of us we face everyday, whether we like it or not. There were a lot of haunting images and moments in this book that poked my heart. Moments that both terrify and mesmerize me. Truly, this has been a well written story which touches on many subjects, like family, reality, friendship and love. Meg Collett’s writing is like a drug, I couldn’t stop taking all her words in until I’m way up there high and crying.

This has been a heart-lurching and heavy read, but I loved it from beginning to end.

coffeeratingdivider

5cups

Leave a Reply

