Review: When It Holds You by Nicki Elson

whenitholds

When It Holds You (The It Series #3)
by Nicki Elson

coffeesynopsisdVirtual. That’s where she was supposed to stay—only in my online gaming life. I never intended to meet up with her in person. And I certainly hadn’t counted on her being who she is.

Cliff Walsh has dozens of hot, smart, and willing paramours in his video games. Who needs to look further? The twenty-eight year old attorney is done getting his heart smashed by real-life women who fit his perfect-mate checklist. From now on, he vows to keep his romances digital-only…until a certain redheaded gamer twists all his preconceptions and touches a place in his heart he didn’t know existed.

I always thought I knew what love would look like, but sometimes you don’t recognize it until the moment when it holds you. ~Cliff

coffeethoughts

I thought this was a good read. I’ve read the second book in this series, When It Hooks You and I loved it. I liked the story of Trish and Adam Helms. Now it’s Clifford Walsh’s turn and I thought I’d be blown away by Cliff’s story. He’s that perennial mail BFF who couldn’t get the girl. I thought he was too hang up on his feelings for Trish even though it was evident that Trish already found the one for her. This time, Trish was kind of insensitive of Cliff’s feelings for her, which I totally get. Really, I know those type of girls who could be sweet and romantic to a guy; and more often than not, their actions were misinterpreted, even if it wasn’t their intention. I honestly believed Trish really treated Cliff as her best friend, but it was the people around them who put too much fuss and issue about their closeness.

Cliff was a lawyer by day and a gamer at night, who often went by the username Loinerd. (More like loincloth, actually, LOL). I found him quite a character in the first book, but here, I thought he was too annoying. He often jumped to conclusions based on what he saw and wanted to believe, only to get disappointed when his hunches were incorrect. That’s what I didn’t like about him; I thought he was judgmental. But he and PlanetClaire were quite a team. I liked how their story unfolded and the twist that made them quite a catch. I must admit, I was really surprised to discover who Claire really was. So unpredictable!

So far, I still liked how things turned out for Cliff and his mystery girl. The gaming enthusiasts would definitely enjoy the world of Castleabra and the missions and tasks on the game. I am no gamer per se, but my kids play Warcraft and other DOTA games so I was able to relate with the Loinerd and PlanetClaire’s online adventures. I’d love to read more books from Nicki Elson because she really had put a lot into her writing. She clearly researched for the story and made the readers feel the emotions in the book. This had been a fascinating read! Kudos, Nicki!

coffeeratingdivider

3cups

Leave a Reply

