Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

selection

The Selection (The Selection #1)
by Kiera Cass

coffeesynopsisd

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herselfβ€”and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

coffeethoughts

 

35 girls vying for the Princess title, only one is going to be chosen in the end.

This Cinderella meets The Bachelor in a Hunger Games type of story is just captivating!

And I LOVE IT.

I don’t know about you, but for once, this love triangle between Prince Maxon, America and Aspen got me giddy with delight and pleasure. I may be the last person who recently got hooked with this series and I’ve been blaming myself for not reading this book ASAP. Maxon is really swoon-worthy, I understand why most girls crave for his attention. America Singer represents the independent woman who had the qualities fit for a queen, even though she wasn’t aware of it. Aspen, oh Aspen, I feel for you, but I don’t know how to defend you. Ah, such tormented love affair.

I love everything in this book, the girls (the good, the mean girls and the flirty ones), the maids-in-waiting, the guards, the dresses, the rendezvous, the tugging of ears and so much more.. I love Kiera Cass, too! She’s gotta be my fairy godmother because she makes me feel good with her story and brings magic to my life. Yay!

Now I can’t wait to read The Elite, which surprisingly is next (as in # 1) on my TBR (I am telling you, last week, that book is number 8 on my list! LOL). I’m sorry R.L Stine, I don’t want to get Goosebumps yet this Halloween!)

coffeeratingdivider

4cups

2 thoughts on “Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

