Review: Death on the Nile (Hercule Poirot #17) by Agatha Christie

deathnile

Death on the Nile
(Hercule Poirot #17)
by Agatha Christie
Paperback, 416 pages
Published June 1st 2001

The tranquility of a cruise along the Nile is shattered by the discovery that Linnet Ridgeway has been shot through the head. She was young, stylish and beautiful, a girl who had everything – until she lost her life. Hercule Poirot recalls an earlier outburst by a fellow passenger: ‘I’d like to put my dear little pistol against her head and just press the trigger.’ Yet in this exotic setting, nothing is ever quite what it seems…

coffeethoughts

This was my first Agatha Christie novel which I was able to read 10 years ago. I guess there’s something about Agatha Christie that compelled me to read her mysteries over and over again. This one happened to be one of my favorites, aside from Murder in the Orient Express.

achristieWhile on board a cruise ship for a vacation/honeymoon in Egypt, dashingly beautiful and wealthy woman, Linnet Doyle was found dead in her cabin, and Hercule Poirot tried his best to discover the murderer. In a distinctive Poirot fashion, he was able to find clues among the personal things inside the ship, like a velvet stole (long shawl) and a bottle of red ink, plus a string of faux pearls. To tell you frankly, my first guess suspect had been the jealous ex-lover of Linnet’s husband Simon.. But as I perused the whole book, my guesses kept on changing. Until I finally reached the end.

Wow, it was mind blowing! I loved that it kept me at the edge of my seat, that it was quick paced and very much intriguing, even if the book’s timeline was too many decades ago. Agatha Christie may have been in cahoots with Sherlock Holmes when she wrote this book. If you are a lover of mysteries and thrillers, then this book is for you!

coffeeratingdivider

4cups

2 thoughts on “Review: Death on the Nile (Hercule Poirot #17) by Agatha Christie

  1. I love Agatha Christie’s novels and I love Poirot, everything about him is perfect, even his legendary ego! But… Sir Arthur stole my heart a long, long time ago with Sherlock Holmes. He’s definitely my favorite detective (and I loved Jeremy Brett as Sherlock, he managed to act exactly like the SH that I imagined, I still watch the tv series sometimes!). Loved your review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

