By the River Piedra I Sat Down & Wept

piedra

By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept
(On the Seventh Day #1)
by Paulo Coelho

coffeesynopsisdRarely does adolescent love reach its full potential, but what happens when two young lovers reunite after eleven years? Time has transformed Pilar into a strong and independent woman, while her devoted childhood friend has grown into a handsome and charismatic spiritual leader. She has learned well how to bury her feelings . . . and he has turned to religion as a refuge from his raging inner conflicts.

Now they are together once again, embarking on a journey fraught with difficulties, as long-buried demons of blame and resentment resurface after more than a decade. But in a small village in the French Pyrenees, by the waters of the River Piedra, a most special relationship will be reexamined in the dazzling light of some of life’s biggest questions.

coffeethoughts

It’s been eight years ago since I first read this masterpiece from Paolo Coelho. His stories had always tugged strings in my heart. Last night, I was looking at my old stash of books and found this again.

I remember wiping my tears every now and then when I started reading and proceeding to the succeeding pages of this book. I really couldn’t help but cry with this love story between a man and a woman, who used to be lovers, reunited 11 years after. Paolo Coelho wrote a masterfully written concept revolving around religion, romance, human life, and miracles. His words touched my soul, made me think about life and religion in a whole new light.

This story is something that people need to read to better understand the concept of love.

Yes, By the River Piedra is all about love – the love of a man and a woman , and the love of God for each of them. As always, Coelho makes sure that he has something wonderful to offer in all his books. So prepare a roll of tissue when you read this one.

“Waiting is painful. Forgetting is painful. But not knowing which to do is the worst kind of suffering.

I couldn’t agree more.

coffeeratingdivider

4cups

2 thoughts on “By the River Piedra I Sat Down & Wept

  1. Madam, do you have a soft copy of this story. Can i ask you a favor, if you can send me a copy of this story please, i really want to read this story, it seems i really can relate with this (just reading the synopsis seems my tears are ready to flow)…if it is okay if not still its okay. Have a good day. God Bless! Thanks..Jonaly

    Like

Leave a Reply

