5 stars · book reviews · fantasy YA · favorite books

Review: Neverland by Anna Katmore

Neverland
(Adventures in Neverland series Book 1)
by Anna Katmore

coffeesynopsisd

“Any last words?”
“Go to hell, you freaking…filthy…godforsaken…”
Our noses almost touch as he dips his head and brushes a strand of my hair behind my ear. “Angel, the word you’re looking for is pirate.”

Why is there a boy who doesn’t want to grow up?
How can an apple start the sweetest romance in fairytale history?
And what does a ruthless pirate have to do with it all?

Although Angelina McFarland loves reading fairytales, she never dreamed of falling right into one herself. But that’s exactly what happens when she slips on her balcony and a flying Peter Pan catches her mid-fall.

Ending up in Neverland where no one seems to age and laws of nature are out of control, Angel has no idea how to get home. Worse, the ruthless Captain Hook captures her and keeps her trapped on his ship, the Jolly Roger, where she gets caught between the lines of a timeless battle. But the more time Angel spends with the captain, the more she sees beneath his ruthless façade. The feelings she’s growing for him are as intense as shocking, and soon she can’t stop thinking about how soft his lips felt on hers when he kissed her under the stars. But Angel and a pirate? That’ll never work. Or can it?

As Angel desperately tries to find a way to return to her real life, she discovers a train ticket to London in her pocket. It won’t be any help in getting off the island, but as her memory fades away the longer she stays, this is all she has left to remind her of her former life and why she can’t give up trying.

Or is staying in Neverland forever the better choice after all?

 

coffeethoughts

Have I ever mentioned before that Peter Pan is one of my favorite fairy-tale characters of all time? Well, next to Cinderella, that is. I have always loved Peter Pan and Tinkerbell. When Hook was included in the TV show Once Upon A Time, I immediately got hooked! {wink-wink} And never looked back..

Anna Katmore’s Neverland series is my newest Peter Pan retelling. Oh, let me rephrase that. This isn’t actually a retelling. This is a story of an Angel who fell down from the clouds, caught by a spritely flying boy named Peter, forgot her name, discovered Neverland, met the boys that never grew old, desperately tried to return to London, and captured by Captain Hook. Sounds familiar?

Well, believe it or not, this isn’t like any Peter Pan & Hook stories that you’ve grown to know and love. Not at all.

In my opinion, this book, Neverland, is more of Captain Hook’s turf. Jamie Hook is a far cry from the ugliest, meanest and scariest pirate in the land. No. He is the kind of villain-hero you would grow to love, apples, included. While Peter Pan is the hero that you’d rather choose to hate.

This is definitely not your typical Disney story. I applaud Anna Katmore for a meticulously written and fantastically narrated book. I actually read this with my kids in two nights, and during those two storytelling sessions, I swear I saw sparks, fireworks and mischief in their eyes. We can’t wait to read the next book and fill our dreams with happy thoughts! What can I say, I’m a kid at heart, too!

coffeeratingdivider

5cups

4 thoughts on “Review: Neverland by Anna Katmore

  1. I think I’m going to like this version of Captain Hook very much. I watch the series Once Upon a Time and like a villain/hero character very much – the flaws make them so much better.
    Love the new look to your blog, especially the my thoughts tea cups – so cute. I have been trying very hard to create better social media icons on my blog. How did you get yours so big?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

