Review: Collared by Nicole Williams

collared

Collared
by Nicole Williams

coffeesynopsisdWhen a seventeen-year-old girl vanishes,
A community is shaken.
Parents turn desperate.
Friends hold vigils.
And the boy who loves her searches.

When a year goes by,
The community is recovering.
Parents feel hopeless.
Friends feel helpless.
And the boy who loves her continues his search.

When ten years go by,
The community has forgotten.
Parents cling to the past.
Friends move toward the future.
And the boy who loves her . . .
Brings her home.

Jade Childs spent ten years in captivity, but now that she’s back, the real battle for survival begins. The media shadows her. Flashbacks haunt her. Her old life evades her. Her so-called new life rejects her. She spent too many years in the dark to recognize the light. She spent too long repressing her feelings to remember how to express them. She spent a decade abandoning hope and cannot dare letting it back into her life. Jade’s not just defined by what happened to her—she’s collared to it.

When the twenty-seven-year-old woman is found,
A community wants to know the story,
Parents want to forget the story,
Friends want to be a part of the story,
And the man who still loves her faces the greatest challenge yet: letting her go.

coffeethoughts

When I first read the blurb/synopsis of Collared, the news about Jaycee Dugard’s disappearance suddenly came to my mind. In case you aren’t aware of Jaycee Dugard, she was only 11 years old when she was kidnapped in South Lake Tahoe by a sex offender and was held captive for about 18 years, which resulted to lies, rape and pregnancy. {See more of her stories here}.

Jade Childs disappeared right after she spent her most memorable and best day of her life with boyriend, Torrin Costigan. Torrin believed that the best day usually was followed by something bad. Such thing happened when a man kidnapped her in front of her house and spent ten years in captivity, in chains, in the closet, in the dark.

Ten years had gone and Jade was rescued. It was such an emotional scene, truly heartbreaking. But what made matters worse was the trauma she had to endure after being gone for such a long time. The emotional turmoil she had to go through each day with the media, her friends, the community as a whole, and the anguish being with her parents and with the man she loved.

It was difficult for her to adjust to her new found freedom. The struggles she’d been through, the media avalanche, the trauma. She couldn’t deal with the noises she heard outside her door, the ruckus and chaos shown in every TV station, not even the look of forlorn and pity and heartache that she saw from her parent’s eyes. It was all too much. And most devastatingly, learning that she could no longer have Torrin, the boy who had loved her 10 years ago.

brokenheart

Prior to reading this novel, I have already prepared myself emotionally and physically for the outcome of the story. I’ve got my handkerchief ready, another box of tissue stored in my desk drawer just in case, and my ever present stuffed teddy bear at my side so he could console me when the floodgates started to open. However, I realized, I didn’t need this comfort things to get me by because I already had an idea of how things would turn out.

 

However, I got mixed feelings after reading this, like there are some open-ended questions that keep on floating in my head.  Although the kidnapper in this book landed a very different fate from Dugard’s captors, the ending was somehow a bit lacking to me. Maybe I was expecting more from Jade and Torrin, but maybe I wasn’t. Maybe I have accepted the fact that it should really end that way, or maybe I should ask for more finite and final denouement. A resolution. A closure.

Or maybe that was just me.

But I’ve got to agree with everyone, this was quite a story, quite poignant at that. The intense feels that Nicole Williams encapsulated in the book was heart-rending. Miss Williams’ writing was superb. I would love to read more of her books so I could get to know her better.

P.S.

This book is one of our book club’s #NALitLoversPH Book of the Month for our September read-along. Check out my friends’ lovely reviews!

Pearl @ Pages of Pearl | Bea @ Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic

coffeeratingdivider

3.5cups

2 thoughts on “Review: Collared by Nicole Williams

  1. I wanted more from Jade and Torrin. The ending didn’t pack the punch I wanted it to for sure. I loved the story, I thought it was written so well but I agree with the more feeling. I think for me I wanted a little more of the mystery surrounding the actual case, and I wanted more from Jade and her feelings for Torrin. I wanted her to finally let him in. Great review girl!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

