Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

taltbilb

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
(To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1)
by Jenny Han

coffeesynopsisd

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. 

They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her, these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. 

But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. And suddenly Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

coffeethoughts

Dear Crush,

You knew first hand during grade school that I’ve got a crush on you, right? The first time we met, it was during an oratorical contest and we were competitors. You caught me staring at you multiple times and I had the audacity to tell you that you were cute. But I just did that because I thought we would never see each other again.

Lo and behold! A year later, we entered high school, and I was surprised to see you standing beside the flag pole, looking lost. Then there was that flicker of recognition in your eyes that made me smile. You remembered me! I was so happy! What made me more ecstatic was when I learned that you were gonna be my classmate for the next four years!

And then my bestfriend told me he saw you kissing Rosalie under the mango tree. My heart was crushed. Why was I so blind? Of course you had a girlfriend already. With your good looks, bedroom voice, sweet smile and bright mind… who wouldn’t fall for you?

So this is my hello and goodbye letter. But before I end this note, let me tell you one thing. I am now over you.

Seriously. You know why I decided to write you a letter? I actually got this inspiration (more like stole the idea) from Jenny Han, a very effective author if I may say so. You should read this. I mean her book. You should read it. You’ll like Peter Kavinsky, you might feel an affinity with him.

Lara Jean, the female main character, was a little too childish at first. Really, I thought I wouldn’t be able to get through with the whole book because I had this impression that she was a weakling and acted like a 12 year old instead of 16. Like she didn’t know what to do with her life, or with herself, now that her older sister Margot was moving to Scotland. It was time for her to grow up!

Then her love letters happened. Love letters that were mysteriously sent out to the boys she loved before. Peter Kavinsky, her first kiss, got a letter. Josh, her next-door neighbor and her older sister’s ex-boyfriend got a letter. The one from the camp got a letter. Even the one who happened to be gay got her letter. Lara Jean was doomed.

Except, everything seemed to change once the love letters were received. Soon, Josh learned the truth, became more interested in her. But she asked Peter to pretend as her boyfriend just to save face. Could their pretend relationship lead them out to nowhere?

loveletter

 

In the end, I realized, I liked Lara Jean and her unique “quirky” self. I liked how she was slowly growing up, how she was slowly taking in the things she’d been afraid to do before.

And Peter.. well, he’s the one who really stood out for me. He got me all giddy and dreamy, and reminded me a lot about you, my dear crushie. He was a total heartbreaker, and I don’t blame him one bit.

Josh.. I still got some issues about Josh. I think he better get his act together. For Lara Jean’s sake. For Margot’s sake. For his sake.

I want to end this note in a promise. A promise that I won’t ever be bothering you again, my dear crush. I’m glad I didn’t pursue you in high school. Ha, that would have been very awkward and embarrassing, don’t you think?

But this is not the end yet for Lara Jean and Peter and Josh.. And Kitty and Margot and Genevieve, too. And then there’s still McLaren, another guy from Lara Jean’s past who mildly intrigued me. They’re more interesting to know now, you know.

Jenny Han’s writing still needed a little work in this book, but I got past the minute details because I end up liking the story. I can’t wait to see and read what happen’s next to Peter and Lara Jean. This was surprisingly a really feel-good and smile inducing love story! Yay!

So, this is it. Goodbye Crush. Thanks for your time. Have a nice life.

– P.S.
I was the one who put the cupcake on your locker on our last Christmas party.

coffeeratingdivider

4cups

7 thoughts on “Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  1. I’m glad you liked it! I haven’t read this yet but I really want to. I’ve heard great things about this book and I think I’ll definitely enjoy reading this. I hope you enjoy the sequel. 😀

Leave a Reply

