Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

iewuIt Ends with Us
by Colleen Hoover

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

coffeesynopsisdLily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

coffeethoughtsFinally finished this at 5am. I was restless last night, as if this book was telling me to wake up and face Ryle, Atlas and Lily. So I gave in.

And now I’m lost. Ruined. A mess.

When I first started reading It Ends With Us, it was merely out of curiosity since most of my GR and FB friends had been babbling about the sheer excellence of Colleen Hoover. Of course, we’re talking about THE COLLEEN HOOVER so I’m game to any books she’ll release. I’ve always loved her books and I’m a big fan of CoHo, so yeah, definitely, IEWU deserves a spot in my shelf.

Until I finished reading the book. My first reaction was: How can something so beautiful be so painful at the same time? It took me days to finally come up with a review. I thought if I get to read other books right after IEWU, the feeling of restlessness and extreme pain won’t be as hurtful as before.

I was mistaken.

Clearly, until now, I’m still swimming… swimming like Dory.. swimming in my own tears. Like Celine Dion said, “it’s all coming back, it’s all coming back to me now….” the feels, the jealousy, the pain, the abuse, the trauma… everything. Cuts like a knife, pierces like a dagger. I thought I could empathize with Lily Rose Bloom, but the struggles, abuse, torment and suffering she endured was indescribable and unbelievable. I realize I couldn’t and didn’t want to put my feet in her shoes.

Ryle, Ryle, Ryle… I was sympathetic with him in the beginning, until I saw his other side. Man, my heart was ripped out of my chest. I started to hate Ryle and didn’t want to change my opinion of him.

iewuquote

And Atlas… my dear Atlas. The moment I learned of his homeless situation, he already held a soft spot in my heart. When he made cupcakes for Lily, I grew more in love with him. I thought I could only love him in the past tense, in the journal, in Lily’s memory of her teens. Eight years later, I love him even more.

The ending was perfect. I couldn’t have asked for a better end. I liked that Lily won’t be swimming anymore.

What gutted my heart afterwards was when I read Colleen’s side of the story. Oh my. I cried for her. I cried for Atlas. I cried for all the women who had to experience what Lily had. I cried for Colleen’s mom. I cried for Dory.. and I cried for myself. (because I just couldn’t stop the tears flowing from my eyes).

I love you Colleen.

 

P.S. I thank my GR friends for their words of encouragement while I was reading this book. Also, please check out my good friend and read-along buddy, Henz for her spectacular review in her blog, The Bookworm Panda.Β 

 

coffeeratingdivider

 

5cups

11 thoughts on “Review: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

  1. *Sniffs* It’s all coming back to me noooooooooooowwwww. Baby, baby, babeeeeh! Oh, it hurts, Ate Claire and reading your review triggered those painful emotions again. Lol. I agree with every single word you said. Most brilliant review. ❀

  2. Pingback: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover – TheBookWormPanda

Leave a Reply

