book reviews · Contemporary · New Adult · sports romance

Review: The Year We Fell Down by Sarina Bowen

SarinaBowen-TheIvyYears#1

The Year We Fell Down (The Ivy Years #1)
by Sarina Bowen

coffeesynopsisdThe sport she loves is out of reach. The boy she loves has someone else.

What now?

She expected to start Harkness College as a varsity ice hockey player. But a serious accident means that Corey Callahan will start school in a wheelchair instead.

Across the hall, in the other handicapped-accessible dorm room, lives the too-delicious-to-be real Adam Hartley, another would-be hockey star with his leg broken in two places. He’s way out of Corey’s league.

Also, he’s taken.

Nevertheless, an unlikely alliance blooms between Corey and Hartley in the “gimp ghetto” of McHerrin Hall. Over tequila, perilously balanced dining hall trays, and video games, the two cope with disappointments that nobody else understands.

They’re just friends, of course, until one night when things fall apart. Or fall together. All Corey knows is that she’s falling. Hard.

But will Hartley set aside his trophy girl to love someone as broken as Corey? If he won’t, she will need to find the courage to make a life for herself at Harkness — one which does not revolve around the sport she can no longer play, or the brown-eyed boy who’s afraid to love her back.

coffeethoughts

Oh well.. I kinda liked this book, I did. I thought Corey, the wheelchair-bound heroine was a dear girl. Despite being handicapped, she didn’t whine or complain about her situation. She breathed hockey, she loved the sport, unfortunately though, she could no longer enjoy and play it because of her paralysis.

I’ve got some issues with the male lead. Hartley (Adam’s the name but he’s been called Hartley throughout the book, so let’s stick to it).

Now Hartley was the boy next door who also played hockey, but due to some stupid stunts, he injured his leg. So he had to sit out one season of hockey games. Adam Hartley, gorgeous, funny, affectionate.. and loyal to his girlfriend. I get it. He was the whole package. A perfect friend who never took advantage of his freedom. I thought he was kinda cool. Until I found myself already frowning and raising my eyebrows, getting disappointed at him as the pages rolled by. What’s wrong with you man? Can’t you see were being played on? I got no qualms with your being loyal, but dude, your girl wasn’t definitely worth it. (And I thought Corey was the martyr one. Ugh!)

Damn guy sure took him soooo long to see what’s best and right for him. Dude, the whole universe already conspired to make you see that your blonde absentee girlfriend was good for nothing, but you were just too blind. (Double Ugh). 

In the end, Hartley redeemed himself, but my feelings were already exhausted. In the end, I realized, if this is how it was gonna be, so be it. At least I got the ending that I wanted. And Hartley said things I really wanted him to say. Thank goodness.

tywfdquote

“Hartley? I…I can’t just be a hookup. Maybe some girls can pull that off, but…”
He put two fingers over my lips. “You have me, Callahan.” His hand slid to cup my cheek, and I leaned into its warmth. “You’re the first person I want to talk to in the morning, and the last thing I want to see at night.”

This is my first book by Sarina Bowen. I love her writing and her ideas. I’ve read great things about her other books, so despite my apprehensions with The Year We Fell Down, this wouldn’t dampen my spirit. I would still love to read her other works. That, I am sure of.

 

coffeeratingdivider

coffeecoffeecoffee

coffeeclaire

Leave a Reply

