Review: Bossman by Vi Keeland


Bossman

Bossman
by Vi Keeland

coffeesynopsisd


The first time I met Chase Parker, I didn’t exactly make a good impression.

I was hiding in the bathroom hallway of a restaurant, leaving a message for my best friend to save me from my awful date.

He overheard and told me I was a bitch, then proceeded to offer me some dating advice.

So I told him to mind his own damn business―his own tall, gorgeous, full-of-himself damn business―and went back to my miserable date.

When he walked by my table, he smirked, and I watched his arrogant, sexy ass walk back to his date.

I couldn’t help but sneak hidden glances at the condescending jerk on the other side of the room. Of course, he caught me on more than one occasion, and winked.

When the gorgeous stranger and his equally hot date suddenly appeared at our table, I thought he was going to rat me out.

But instead, he pretended we knew each other and joined us―telling elaborate, embarrassing stories about our fake childhood.

My date suddenly went from boring to bizarrely exciting.

When it was over and we parted ways, I thought about him more than I would ever admit, even though I knew I’d never see him again.

I mean, what were the chances I’d run into him again in a city with eight million people?Then again…

What were the chances a month later he’d wind up being my new sexy boss?

coffeethoughts

To say that I had fun reading this book is an understatement. No, no. I devoured Bossman, I was delighted, I was entranced, I screamed at the top of my lungs. In other words, I thoroughly enjoyed this book. With a guy who looked exactly like this playing the main attraction, with those piercing, smoldering eyes and kissable lips? Who wouldn’t?
gilbertofritsch

See??

Ok, let’s proceed with my review before I get carried away again.

The story starts with soon-to-be jodless Reese Annesley calling her BFF on the phone, asking her to save her with a fake emergency phone call whike she was on a boring datd with a guy named Martin.  And then… One gorgeous guy overheard her convo and thrown flak on her phone trick.  Not a good impression considering that guy was oozing with sex appeal.

Surprise,  surprise.  Said gorgeous guy sat on her table with a blonde in tow,  and soon, Reese’s boring twosome became one heck of a double date. And soon,  the delicious man named Chase Parker and his insanely awesome made-up stories became legendary.  Totally insane,  I tell you!

It won’t be long until he encountered Mr.  Parker again,  this time in a gym while she was going out with Bryant,  and her “middle school friend ” became her long lost cousin,  twice removed.  Chase and his impossibly believable stories surely had me laughing like a baboon howling at the moon.

bossmanVK

Remember Reese’s almost out of job status?  Well,  well,  well.. Not for long..  Luck was on her side as she found her way to Parker Industries,  a company specializing at products for women’s intimate needs.  And guess who was gonna be her boss?  Yep,  none other than Chase Parker himself,  and man,  what a tingling,  titillating and tantalizing (trouble), er.. work she was gonna be in.

What happened next,  was a big cat-and-mouse chase,  with libidos running high,  sexual tension getting frustrated by the minute and extremely agitating self-control on Reese’s part.  Gosh,  I couldn’t help but admire this girl’s guts,  dodging Chase Parker like that in favor of Bryant.  Oh I love her for not succumbing to temptation while she was still dating another man.  See,  there’s no cheating involved in their love triangle right? Way to go Reese! You are one fiery, sexy and smart lady and I love you already!

bossmanquote

But we all know the inevitable was imminent,  one way or another.  Soon Reese would act upon her desire (secret, secret!)  and all hell would break loose with Chase Parker and this totally charismatic reader (yours truly,  ahem) became totally bonkers. Woah!

I can’t fully divulge the whole story..  But one thing’s for sure.  Bossman was a terrific and devastatingly delectable read.  Never had I encountered a male lead who was not only ruggedly handsome,  intelligent boss,  but also impressively patient,  caring and unexpectedly broken man.  His past with Peyton caught up with him,  turning this hot and sexy read into an impossibly heartbreaking story in the end. A story that made me say,  “Chase,  oh Chase…  Come to mama and let me hug you babe”.

Yep,  I went totally bonkers,  I tell you. This is my very first Vi Keeland book, and I want to punch myself for not discovering her soon. I knew I remember Colleen Hoover highly recommending Keeland’s Cocky Bastard, I was just too darn stubborn to read it at that time. Now I have to read all of Keeland’s books from now on! She had me laughing and rolling on the floor and crying like a baby in a short span of time. Lady, that’s one heck of an accomplishment to me. Thank you!

Suffice it to say that Bossman deserves 5 steamy coffee cups and 5 bright sexy stars. A highly recommended read especially after a series of sobfest reads. My friends from #NALitLoversPH book club share my joy and tears, and we couldn’t be more satisfied with this book. Check out their reviews!

Pearl of Pearl’s Book Journey  | Beatrice of Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic | Rechellyn of Infinite TBRList | Jam of Heartscent Reads | Kat of The Booklander | Allie of A Literary  Wanderer | Nicay of The Nerdy Side of a Queen

Cheers!

 

coffeeratingdivider

 coffeecoffeecoffeecoffeecoffee

coffeeclaire

5 thoughts on “Review: Bossman by Vi Keeland

  1. Pingback: Bossman by Vi Keeland | Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic

  2. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW: Bossman by Vi Keeland – infinitetbrlist

  3. Pingback: BOOK REVIEW | Bossman by Vi Keeland – Whispers of Reverie.

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Bossman – Heartscent Reads

Leave a Reply

