5 stars · book reviews · Contemporary · New Adult

Review: One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters

 ODS

One Day Soon (One Day Soon #1)
by A. Meredith Walters

officialsynopHe found me in blood and tears.
I stayed with him through darkness and fire.

We loved each other in the moment between innocence and bitter truth.
We were the kids easily ignored, who grew into adults we hardly knew.

We weren’t meant to last forever. And we didn’t.

He ran away.
I tried to move on.

Yet I never stopped thinking about the boy who had fought to keep me alive in a world that would have swallowed me whole. He was the past that I buried, but never forgot.

Until the day I found him again, years after believing I had lost him forever.

And in cold, resentful eyes, I saw the heart of the man who had been everything when I had nothing at all. So I vowed to hold onto the second chance that was stolen from the children we had been.

Sometimes fate is ugly. Life can be twisted.
And who we are can be ruined by who we once were.

For two people who had survived so much, we would have to learn how to hold on before we were forced to let go.

officialreviewNever cried so hard like this… Not since Butterfly Dreams. And incidentally, only A. Meredith Walter could do that to me.

Is this going to be a happy-ending kind of story?

Believe me… I wish I could tell. But the sobs and tears and rolls of tissues I consumed seem to tell otherwise.

Even until now, I still can’t stop crying..

Oh. God.

But I know all this sobfest must come to an end, although not quite as I expected it to be. The characters, Yossarian Frazier and Imogen Conner are two people who tugged at my heartstrings. Two broken people, each needed the feeling to be safe and needed and wanted. Each wanted to give something to the other. Each had their own reasons to live in this dying world.

onedaysoon

Imogen or Imi ran away from home, fed up of feeling unwanted and unloved by her own mother. Who didn’t really care at all whether Imi left and never returned. At first, I wanted to smack this girl because I thought she was.. I don’t know… needy.. weepy.. full of angst.. sought attention. But as her story progressed, I finally understood where she was coming from and had felt sad for her.

Yoss saved Imi physically and emotionally. He became her protector, her savior, her everything. In my eyes, Yoss is one of a kind. The Gandhi of street kids. The man who bore infinite green eyes and a selfless heart. He and his secrets made him steel, heal and real. I have never encountered a man like Yoss, and I couldn’t stop myself from thinking about him. I want to snuggle up to him, comfort him, nurture him, soothe him.

Fifteen agonizing years separated them, and when they finally reunited, it was bittersweet and surreal. Imi was surprised to see him, bloodied and almost left for dead. She could never forget this man who made the biggest impact in her life. This man who promised everything..but failed to keep that promise. Despite all of it, Imi knew Yoss needed her, now, more than anything. Damnit, just as I thought all’s gonna turn out fine, then the bomb about Yoss situation dropped.. Damn, this two could never have their happy ending at this rate they’re going, I told myself. And damnit, why did it has to happen to them?

As you can see, I am getting quite emotional again. So I have to stop. A. Meredith Walters had impressed me with her Butterfly Dreams last year and I could never forget it. Now, One Day Soon has come and though it evidently  crushed my heart, this was one of the exceptional novels I’ve read this year. A.M.W writes with her heart and mind and soul. She’s a winner in my book!

P.S.
I buddyread this with my #NALitLoversPH group for our #NewAdultAndBeyondPH readalong.. My first time to join a group and it was an awesome experience. Check out my book BFF’s lovely reviews, too!

Bea of Confessions of a Pinay Bookaholic

Jam of Heartscent Reads

Rechellyn of Infinite TBR List

Kat of The Booklander

Allie of Whispers of Reverie

Pearl of Pearl’s Book Journey

My Rating: 

5cups

13 thoughts on “Review: One Day Soon by A. Meredith Walters

Leave a Reply

