Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

beautifulcreature1

Beautiful Creatures (Caster Chronicles #1)
by Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl

officialsynopLena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

officialreviewIt was a rare thing for me to see my husband read one of the books in my shelf. When he chose to read Beautiful Creatures, I asked him why. He said, he saw the movie first and was quite intrigued with the Casters. So he gave the book a try. And it was a pleasant sight to see him holding the book before he slept during his rest-days (which took him about 3 weeks to finish). In the end, this is what he thought of the book: Generally, the characters were likeable, the story was good, unlike those vampire-wolf shticks you previously liked. If this is the kind of book you are reading lately, I would gladly buy the sequel if you want.

Personally though, I thought he liked the book better because it was told by a male’s point of view. So I imagined him thinking that he was Ethan and I was Lena in the book. Yeah right.

Well, that was my hubby’s opinion. Me, hmm, well I thought it was so-so, until the last couple of chapters because it raised more questions. I would have to call on my hubby’s offer to get the rest of the books and see if this was indeed a great series.

My Rating: 

3cups

officialClaire

2 thoughts on “Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

  1. I have to admit to not particularly liking Beautiful Creatures. I’ve read it twice and both times I was just kind of bored. I haven’t felt the need to read the next book but if you do I’ll be interested to see what you think of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

