Review: Just A Girl by Ellie Cahill

jag

Just a Girl
by Ellie Cahill (Author)

officialsynopAfter getting kicked out of her own band—by her own boyfriend—Presley Mason finds herself back in Wisconsin, helping her parents run their renowned music store. Instead of belting out powerhouse vocals to sold-out crowds in L.A., she’s stocking shelves and inspecting rental violins. But the shop isn’t all bad: When she’s vacuuming up late one night, she bumps into the guitar teacher with the smoldering amber eyes and the killer tattoo. And that’s when things take an interesting turn.

Presley soon finds that Paul Kellerman is as good in bed as he is on guitar. So why isn’t he stoked to share his band, Jukebox Bleu, with her? Turns out Paul has crippling stage fright, which he’s been self-medicating without much success. But when Jukebox Bleu’s lead singer gets called for military service, the other members beg Presley to front them. Even though she swore never to mix men with music again, the temptation to perform is almost as intense as her chemistry with Paul. Now Presley must decide what’s more important: a second chance at love . . . or rock stardom.

officialreview

Once, there was a promising guitarist who’s afraid of the cameras and crowd. Then there was a lead singer who just got sacked by her own band mates and now she never wanted to sing again. Paul & Presley met in the most unconventional way possible, frightening each other nonetheless. When they hooked up, their worlds’ collided and their nights sparkled with fireworks. But all good things seemed to end. When the band lost their lead singer due to military services, Presley had to chose whether to up her game or forget everything about what she was really great at.

This had been an easy and interesting read. Very hot and erotic too, not that I’m complaining. I thought I understood where Presley’s hesitance in singing was coming from. But to act like a kid who had her lollipop stolen from her when she was cornered by her mom during an Open Night performance, resulting to a walk-out, I thought she was childish. Paul on the other hand was relatable. I know how being in front of a crowd could being jitters and nerves to me. I could never overcome my stage fright. Paul’s coping mechanism though was kinda extreme. I am glad I wouldn’t have to resort to what Paul had done in the story. Believe me, it wasn’t something I intend to do.

Overall, Ellie Cahill never fails to deliver a good reading material. Her characters are engaging and the whole vibe of the book stays on me until the end. I am pleased to recommend this as an afternoon beach read 🙂

P.S.
It was the highly entertaining tweets and playlist that caught my attention in this book. I loved reading those tweets and replies, even a bunch of oldies could very well use hashtags! And the songs in their varied playlist are so on-point and to die for. Ugh!

My Rating: 

3.5cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

