4 stars · book reviews · fantasy · urban fantasy

Review: Mercy by Misty Provencher

MercyMP

Mercy (The Tabula rasa Series Book 1)
by Misty Provencher

officialsynop“My will to survive is the first thing to drown. I know, because I hold it under myself.”
I assumed my death would come easily. But misunderstanding didn’t stop the undertow as I dove into the dark water. I didn’t bother to flail.
I knew the boy with the golden rod voice couldn’t save me, so I hoped for angels to come instead.
What came for me was something I never expected.
It was something that needed me to live again.

officialreview

This was absolutely astounding! I never thought I’d get spellbound by Gargoyles the instant I read about Madeline’s attempts at death. This isn’t my first time to encounter gargoyle stories, but this is definitely one of the best I’ve read so far.

Madeline wasn’t an easy character to like. From the moment I read that she chose to dive and die, it definitely had me intrigued. I wanted to smack her in the head and kill her instead. But I reeled. I went into the deep recesses of her soul and spent the night gawking, sobbing, breathing and finally understanding how and why it all has to happened. Truce, on the other hand, was a delight to read. I’ve never met a character as willful as him. And The Boy with the Golden Rod Voice? He surprised me. I swear I was prepared to strike him with an anvil to put some sense into his head, as I saw everything what he did, through Madeline’s eyes. This character is definitely something.

Madeline’s turning into a gargoyle and how she could finally achieve that one thing she desired is a definite must read. Mercy is undoubtedly dark, but at the same time, it was beautiful. It’s my first time to read Misty Provencher, and she already me got me transfixed to this crazy amazing world of Truce & Mercy. Why, she even had me enchanted in all things ugly. Gargoyles do that, definitely!

My Rating:

4cups

officialClaire

2 thoughts on “Review: Mercy by Misty Provencher

Leave a Reply

