Review: Julia Jones’ Diary: My Worst Day Ever

jjdMy Worst Day Ever! (Julia Jones’ Diary #1)
by Katrina Kahler

officialsynopJulia looks forward to the most exciting event of the year. As the countdown begins, her world fills with new friendships and surprises, especially when a very pretty girl unexpectedly joins her class and they become great friends. In addition, the cutest boy at school suddenly becomes a part of their group and Julia looks forward to the special occasion that they are all planning for.

But without warning, the events that begin to unfold are not at all what Julia has anticipated. Is there a bully in their midst and is bullying going on around her?

What is in store for Julia and what is the final outcome of her worst day ever?

officialreview

Everything’s going perfectly fine with Julia Jones at school, with her bestfriend Millie by her side and the dance class she was actively in. Plus, there was Blake Jansen who made her blush everytime she saw him. Being dance buddies couldn’t be more perfect, wasn’t it?

That was until newcomer Sara moved to their school and seemed to attract everybody’s attention. She was rich, she’s great in hip-hop dance, she joined their dance musical, she even became the school hero. Julia wasn’t jealous at her because she was fairly confident with herself. Until Sara seemed to take over her responsibilities, and she had set her eyes on Blake, and Julia grew more anxious and paranoid and envious as days dragged. Suddenly, Sara didn’t seem like the friend she appeared to be.

I don’t have a daughter, but after reading this book, I sure wish I had one so I can better take care of her and her needs, do some girly things together like dressing up. Julia Jones make me want to pat her, cuddle her, embrace her and comfort her. Julia Jones sure had her worst day ever, and I couldn’t help but give her a hanky and my shoulders to cry on,

My Worst Day Ever is a very entertaining book, I could hardly put it down. I started reading it at 2pm and finished it within two hours. That’s how captivated I was with Julia’s own version of unfortunate events. Sure, this is for middle aged kids, specifically for 7th graders, but it sure teaches us lessons about bullying, self-esteem and camaraderie. Julia got every reasons to be paranoid at Sara’s unbecoming behavior, taunts, smirks and sarcastic remarks. I was surprised to find Julia keeping it together until the musical day. While many may think she’s lost it, I think she actually represents real life situations.Katrina Kahler truly understood how was it with teens and how to deal with them. I recommended this book to young curious teens!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

