Review: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

lovely_bones_cover1

The Lovely Bones
by Alice Sebold

On her way home from school on a snowy December day in 1973, 14-year-old Susie Salmon (“like the fish”) is lured into a makeshift underground den in a cornfield and brutally raped and murdered, the latest victim of a serial killer–the man she knew as her neighbor, Mr. Harvey.

 

officialreview“My name was Salmon, like the fish; first name, Susie.

I was fourteen when I was murdered on December 6, 1973.”

Susie Salmon was a teenage girl who, after being raped and murdered, by her seemingly deranged neighbor, watches from heaven or limbo as her family and friends struggle to accept her death, understand the circumstances, move on with their lives while she comes to terms with her own death.

I first heard of this book from the movie. Author, Alice Sebold captured my interest about this young girl who was trying to find justice for her death, and in doing so, discovered other souls who also fell victim from her ruthless neighbor. Then there’s also the story of Susie’s sister in her coming-of-age phase. The first half of the book was intense and heavy but on the other half, it felt a little weird to me. I don’t know how to explain it but I think it didn’t really bode well with me in the end. Overall though, it was such a heartbreaking read.

My Rating:ย 

3.5cups

officialClaire

2 thoughts on “Review: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

Leave a Reply

