Review Tour: Bring Your Own Baker by DE Haggerty

byob

– Bring Your Own Baker –
by D.E. Haggerty

officialsynopAnna just wants to earn enough money on the side to buy into the bakery, Callie’s Cakes, where she works together with her best nerd pal Callie. The last thing she expects to see when she walks into Arthur’s apartment to do some moonlighting is a blood bath. Callie’s ready to jump into the investigation into Arthur’s murder, and she’s bringing another bakery worker, Kristie, into their hijinks whether Kristie wants to or not. But things aren’t as they seem. There are gang affiliations, illegal gambling dens, and ladies of the night to wade through. Will Anna and Callie discover who murdered Arthur or will Callie’s detective boyfriend Ben and Anna’s self-appointed protector put a stop to such aspirations?

Come join us at Callie’s Cakes, where murder investigations are on the menu, but make sure to bring your own baker because Anna’s a bit preoccupied at the moment.

Warning: This is NOT your mom’s cozy mystery. Bring Your Own Baker may be a ‘clean’ read, but if gangs, illegal gambling, and pimps make you turn your nose up at your e-reader, you might want to skip this one. Although you’ll be missing some sizzling chemistry between Anna and her protector. Not to mention a whole bunch of witty dialogue.officialexcerpt

Logan grabs my wrist as I’m about to face-plant on my bed. He pulls and twists; turning my body towards him. Before I have a chance to ask him what in the world he’s doing, his lips are on mine. There’s nothing gentle about this kiss. It’s desperate and possessive all in one. I hang on for the ride. Before I realize what’s happening, I’m lying on the bed with Logan over me. He releases my lips but keeps me trapped by his own body on top of mine.
“I’ve been dying to do that all night,” he whispers as he closes his eyes and buries his head in my neck.
“I’m keeping this dress,” I proclaim.
Logan chuckles. “Babe, the dress is hot and you were scorching in it, but you always turn me on even; dressed in your cupcake pajamas.”
I roll my eyes and huff. “Whatever.”
“Now.” He leans back on his heels while pulling me up so that my back is leaning against the headboard. “Fill me in on what happened in the hallway.”
There’s a knock on the door before I have a chance to open my mouth, probably because it’s taking me a while to form thoughts with Logan’s hard muscles on full display. When did he lose his shirt? Logan immediately jumps off the bed and stalks to the bedroom door. “Stay here,” he orders as he leaves. Yeah right, that won’t be happening.

officialreview

I never thought I’d say this, but I think Anna, the pink pixie-haired girl is sooo adorable and funny; I like her even better than her boss Callie.

Let’s see.. Well, sometime ago, her friend and boss Callie, was accused of murdering her pole-dance teacher and was rescued by Ben, the hot detective who’s been harboring feelings for her. Now, Anna’s friend hacker, Arthur, was murdered in his apartment, and surprise, surprise, she’s the one getting accused of killing him because she’s the one who saw the bloodied body. What were the odds that the team of Dumb & Dumber detectives who investigated Callie would also be the ones to grill Anna? Well, tough luck baby, but she’s not getting love from these men at all.

Logan from the Angel Band gang surreptitiously broke and entered Anna’s apartment, demanding her help with the situation. His identity will mystify Anna to no end, and I myself was astounded by this guy’s mere presence.

DE Haggerty pens another delightful mystery-suspense story that made me laugh and roll. She’s quite wicked with her characters, I must say. I thought Callie was hilarious, but Anna seems to be running the show this time and she’s amazing. I loved the banters between friends, and Logan’s hot machismo that had Anna drooling. The murder suspect, oh that was really unexpected. I am embarrassed to say, I didn’t think he was the one who did the murder. Uh-oh. Looking forward to reading more of Haggerty’s story, and I’m sure it’s gonna be so much fun!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

 

Purchase Links For BYOB:
Amazon:  ~ Barnes and Noble:
Smashwords:

About the Author


I was born and raised in Wisconsin, but think I’m a European. After spending my senior year of high school in Germany, I developed a bad case of wanderlust that is yet to be cured. My flying Dutch husband and I have lived in Ohio, Virginia, the Netherlands, Germany and now Istanbul. We still haven’t decided if we want to settle down somewhere – let alone where. Although I’ve been a military policewoman, a commercial lawyer, and a B&B owner, I think with writing I may have finally figured out what I want to be when I grow up. That’s assuming I ever grow up, of course. Between tennis, running, traveling, singing off tune, drinking entirely too many adult beverages, and reading books like they are going out of style, I write articles for a local expat magazine and various websites, review other indie authors’ books, write a blog about whatever comes to mind and am working on my sixth book.

Author Links
 photo readingaddictionbutton_zps58fd99d6.png
4 thoughts on “Review Tour: Bring Your Own Baker by DE Haggerty

Leave a Reply

