Review: When It Hooks You by Nicki Elson

Title: When It Hooks You
Author: Nicki Elson
Genre: Contemporary Romance
officialsynopThree dates. It was only supposed to be three dates—he was only meant to be a fling. I didn’t want to feel all of this for him. And I certainly hadn’t counted on him keeping such a deal-breaking secret from me.
Till death is too long for Trish Cerise. The twenty-seven year old receptionist is tired of men asking for her forever when she just wants to keep things light and fun. World-traveling businessman Adam Helms steps off the elevator and into her life with his own reasons for keeping relationships at a safe distance. Together, they’re destined for the most glorious short-term romance in history…until they break their own rules and Trish learns something about Adam she wishes she never knew.
I know a future with him is impossible, but how do you break away from such an intense, consuming, heart-crushing love when it hooks you?  ~Trish
officialreview

This is surprisingly good! I thought at first this was going to be like those typical stories about fiances getting cheated on and exacting revenge in return. I was totally wrong. I was blown-away by the twists and turns of events, I was at a loss for words. The guy with impeccable taste in suits proved that looks can be deceiving.

Let me tell you how I got hooked with Nicki Elson’s When It Hooks You..I swear this was a beautiful story about a woman who got her heart broken when her boyfriend admitted he’s in love with someone else. Trish Cerise formulated the three dates only rule, to steer clear of serious relationships, stop believing in promises and prevent her heart from shattering again. And when she met Adam Helms, she couldn’t believe her luck. This guy with tailored suits agreed with her rules wholeheartedly, as he himself wasn’t looking for long-term commitments, so to speak.

But their three dates gave way to a fourth, in another country with a promising scenery. Things started getting serious and Trish thought she was falling for Adam. But her bestfriend told her to talk to her guy and have him admit about himself. When Trish learned the truth, that’s when the floodgates opened and I felt really bad for her. Glad that there was Cliff Walsh, though. Who was he? Ahh, you’d better read the book to get the full intriguing story. Cliff was way too delightful and chummy as a friend, I had the same thoughts as Trish about him.

I love that this wasn’t a case of insta-love. Trish wasn’t instantly attracted to Adam, and vice versa. They started with the wrong foot, and an embarrassing one at that. Imagine a guy accidentally listening to a lady’s unconventional dating habit up to the point of learning her lack of sex life. Oh I’d give a thousand bucks just to be able to see Adam’s face. Ha haha..

I really liked how I fell in love with this book in the end. Like I said, I wasn’t really into it at first, I had already set my expectations and was prepared to hate Trish, only to have my eyes go round like saucers as the pages flew by. I must say, Trish may have got the guts to pursue her rules, but she wasn’t always a bitch about it. I liked her vulnerable side, too. I think that was what made me like her in the end. Adam, hmm, yes, I do like him too, but not as much as Cliff! I can’t wait to get to know more about him in the next book. Yay!

‘Tis my first Nicki Elson book and I believe I’ll be looking out to her next books and I’m happy to say, she already got me hooked!

My Rating:
4cups
officialClaire
Leave a Reply

