Review: Soul Rebel by CJ Pinard

soulrebelSoul Rebel

(Rebel Riders Book 1)
by C.J. Pinard

A vampire took his soul. He wants it back.

When 21-year-old Nolan Bishop meets a seductive woman named Eva at a dark club in downtown Shreveport, Louisiana, little does he know his soul will be gone as soon as she is. Realizing she’s taken something from him, he finds out he has a very limited time to destroy her before he turns into something sinister and inhuman. In a race against all that is holy, Nolan has to find Eva and get his soul back while trying not to fall in love with Charity, the twin sister of the succubus who took his soul – all in 7 days.

officialreviewTwo hours after reading this book, I decided to write a review, just to be fair to the other books I’ve read. I wasn’t really planning to do a review, because the truth is, it was meh. And now that I’m about to write my own summary of the book, I realize I forgot the name of the lead male character. Ugh. So I gotta back up and open my kindle again and check out his name. Nolan. Yep, forgettable Nolan.

Well, the story starts with this 21-year old bike restorer polishing his good looks and pocketing the ring that he was supposed to surprise his girlfriend with on a weekend getaway. After a few kisses and Hurricane drinks, the proposal was a success and soon, his girl moved into his pristinely white apartment. (I forget the GF’s name, sorry).

Then something came up, one day he went home to find his fiancee naked with another man in his own couch. Ouch. And you know it, the wedding’s off.

End of story. (I have read multitude of books with this kind of wedding-tragedy so I wasn’t really surprised at all).

But wait, there’s more!

Now the real story starts. Nolan went to a newly-opened club with his friends and there he met a seductress redhead with blue eyes, Eva, and they shared kisses and tongues. Only after their kiss did Nolan realize he wasn’t into her at all, and the next day, he got a visit from someone in the government telling him his soul was taken by a succubus and he’d become a vampire in the next seven days, unless he killed Eva. Yeah right.

Then Nolan saw the redhead again, but this time, the girl was softer and not aggressive. This time, the girl who looked like Eva was actually her twin sister Charity and he instantly fell for her. Uh-oh. insta-love alert! Not good.

A trip to New Orleans confirmed their fears and before you know it, Nolan was fighting for his life and started raging war with the vampires. Yes. That’s the real story.

I wonder why the author had to include Nolan’s heartbreak in the first part of the book. I, for one, didn’t see the significance of the girl’s infidelity to Nolan’s soul being taken. It wasn’t mentioned anymore in the latter part of the book, so I thought that should have been left out in the first place.

Next, as young as 21, a guy like Nolan already thinks about marrying his girl at that age? Seriously, I think that’s still too young, barely fresh out from college. Even if he was head over heels in love with her, I think that’s way too early to get married. Or maybe that’s just me. Oh well.

Plus, among all the male leads I’ve read, Nolan is the most coward of them all. He throws a fit after a vampire knocks him in the head, claiming the supernatural was just too fast for him? Such a chicken. Ugh.

Moving along, there’s also Eva – the one who supposedly took his soul, was said to be a succubus. But it is never mentioned anywhere in the book how she became one. Next, how the hell did her sister Charity know all about her twin being a vampire sucking souls when she said that they hadn’t been in contact for three whole years? Need I say more?

Hmm.. I’d rather not.

Sorry.

My Rating:

1cup

 

Leave a Reply

