Review: Paper Princess (The Royals #1) by Erin Watt

ppPaper Princess (The Royals, #1)
by Erin Watt  (Pseudonym), Elle Kennedy (Author), Jen Frederick (Author)

officialsynopFrom strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.

officialreviewWoah! I guess I now can sigh and scream at the top of my lungs at the same time. Reed Royal got me all hot and bothered, my mind’s spinning right now, I dunno if I could write one coherent review after reading The Royals. But one thing is for sure, this is better than I expected. I’m all for the adult scenes, it didn’t put me off or had me cringing because compared to the other more mature, erotic/new adult books I’ve read, Paper Princess is a little tamer. But definitely bolder and gave me all these different kinds of feels. I swear I’ve been slapped a couple of times by my youngest son because I wasn’t paying attention to his needs, because I was totally engrossed with Ella and Reed and also Easton!

Truth is, I didn’t pay attention to the synopsis of this book when I first saw it here in GR. But I’ve read some reviews and thought this was all just a hype. Besides, I already made plans to read another book, The Selection so I decided to set The Royals aside. But day after day, I see new reviews for Paper Princess and soon, the book wasn’t far from my mind. I thought about the mysterious Reed Royal daily and then I read my friends’ latest reviews and I was crying because I thought I was feeling left out.

So I told America Singer, I’ll just have to postpone our meeting with Prince Maxon because another prince and pauper got my attention. So there.

Then I met the stripper-orphan-turned-princess overnight Ella Harper, who never met her father but was survived by her cancer-stricken mother (or the other way around). When her mother died, Ella forged her signature to enroll herself in school and get away from the foster system. But fate had other plans for her. Soon she met Callum Royal, who insisted that he was friends with her deceased father, Steve O’Halloran. You’d think she would be living the life of a princess after their encounter at the strip club. NOT!

Because the moment she set foot in the Royal Palace, four pairs of gorgeous eyes met hers with disdain and hatred. (They’re supposed to be five, but the oldest Royal was in college, so she didn’t get to meet Gideon). Anyway, the four hot sons of aviation magnate Callum Royal thought she was a gold digger, or maybe their father’s mistress. Reed, Easton, twins Sebastian and Sawyer made her life miserable in the next few days, and her life in Astor Park turned upside down.

Until the day Ella saved one of them and proved she didn’t have any hidden motives whatsoever living in their palace. But that’s not where the story ended. That was just the beginning. And believe me when I say this, I cursed a lot of expletives when I got that damn cliffhanger that Pearl, Henz and AJ were talking about. I was like, WTF You Effing Moron, SOB! July is still a month away and I can’t believe I have to wait that long for book 2! OMG!

paperprincess

Now, let’s talk about the characters. I really love Ella, she’s ballsy, feisty, gutsy. She fights for her rights and knows how to defend herself. She may be proud and indecisive sometimes, but she’s also calculating, soft and prude. I don’t know why I describe her like that, but I really like her.

Among the Royals, Reed was the man! I thought I’d get tired of all the bad boy stereotyped kind of guy, but Ella’s description and desperation for Reed made him all the more exciting and addictive. Reed The Destroyer definitely takes the cake, and… surprise, surprise, Easton comes in next. I love this brothers’ relationship. They’re supportive, manipulative and both are a hot mess. The kind of mess I want to get involved with. (Sorry, I’m a slut sometimes, I can’t help it, LOL)

With the attitude of the rich guys almost owning the school and behaving like they own the world, hell yes, I guarantee you, there are people like the Royals who thought they could get away from everything. Not everyone, but definitely there are some. I’ve worked a decade in an online/Internet American company and had made friends with our members and they’ve told me countless stories about rich kids with bad attitudes. You’d think Boys Over Flowers series was far from truth? Think again.

I think the writers did an amazing job in capturing the readers attention and maintaining that thrill until the next book arrives. I love a great book that makes me think of all the possible reasons why this or that happened. The possibilities are endless, I discerned. I thought of comparing this book to Hana Yori Dango (which was my favorite Japanese manga) and didn’t mind the minute similarities. But it also made me think of Rachel Van Dyken’s Elite Eagle series, which I thought was a disappointing rip-off from HYD, and I couldn’t help but cringe at Elite. One, the main female character on Elite was an idiot and was a Bella-from-Twilight personified. Two, the male F4 weren’t really charismatic at all, their bad boy personalities don’t get better at all.

But enough of the comparison. I have to focus on the next three weeks until I get my hands on Reed and The Broken Prince.

What else can I say that hasn’t already been said? I love Paper Princess, I love the steamy scenes, I love the Royals, I love the convertible cars, I love the swimming pool, I love Ella, Ella, Ella eh, eh… eh.. eh.. eh…

My Rating:

4cups

officialClaire

3 thoughts on “Review: Paper Princess (The Royals #1) by Erin Watt

  1. Yay! I freaking love this book! This book does reminded me of Boys over flowers but this was more sexier and hotter than that. There was so much angst, tension and frustration in it that literally blew my mind. And that cliffhanger totally ruined me. I’m so dying to read the next book! 😀

Leave a Reply

