Review: Marked (Eternal Guardians 1) by Elisabeth Naughton

markedMarked (Eternal Guardians #1)
by Elisabeth Naughton

officialsynopTHERON – Dark haired, duty bound and deceptively deadly. He’s the leader of the Argonauts, an elite group of guardians that defends the immortal realm from threats of the Underworld.

From the moment he walked into the club, Casey knew this guy was different. Men like that just didn’t exist in real life–silky shoulder-length hair, chest impossibly broad, and a predatory manner that just screamed dark and dangerous. He was looking for something. Her.

She was the one. She had the mark. Casey had to die so his kind could live, and it was Theron’s duty to bring her in. But even as a 200-year-old descendant of Hercules, he wasn’t strong enough to resist the pull in her fathomless eyes, to tear himself away from the heat of her body.

As war with the Underworld nears, someone will have to make the ultimate sacrifice.

officialreview

First book from the Eternal Guardians series features Theron, the leader of the Argonauts. For some reason, he wasn’t keen to being friends with humans or half-breeds, let alone getting acquainted with them. He was supposed to get married to Isadora, heir to the kingdom of Argolea, but something happened to change his destiny. Something to do with a human named Casey, working in a strip club, hunted by Daemons and needed by King Leonidas. But there’s a consequence once Casey realized the reason why she was being pursued. Her life was at stake, both at the hands of the demons and the king himself. Could Theron sacrifice her even though he knew she was The One he’d been waiting for?

I love Elisabeth Naughton. She seemed to have lived with the Greek Gods a long time ago, because every story she wrote made me rethink of my former classes at school about Greek mythology. I thought I knew all about Zeus and Hades and Hercules and Athena. I thought I already know about Jason and the Golden Fleece. But I was clearly mistaken because I really had no idea about the Argonauts. Now, Naughton had convinced me that these warriors had their own stories to tell, and I couldn’t wait to meet them all.

Theron is like the antihero protagonist I can’t help but take notice. There’s something sinister about him that I like, which is weird. But when he unleashed his true power, I was surprised to stay transfixed by him. He and Casey rule the human world, the colony, the Olympus, the kingdom and most especially, the bedroom. Their sexual tension was killing me.

I would be needing a dozen pitcher of water if I would continue reading the next eight books in the series. Whew!

My Rating:

3.5cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

