Review: A Perfect Moment by Becca Lee

perfmoment

A Perfect Moment (Perfect #1)
by Becca Lee

officialsynop“When life threatens perfect, it’s time to step up and kick life in the balls.”

Ella’s perfect moment was taken from her is the worst possible way. Humiliated, heart broken and absolutely determined not to allow her heart be destroyed for a second time, she builds an ice wall around her heart.

Preston has known that he was in love his big sister’s best friend since the age of fifteen. Over ten years on, and an opportunity to be her knight in shining armour is too good to miss. Putting his heart on the line, he’s on a mission to show Ella that the perfect moment is possible.

Ella’s instinct is to run when she realises her feelings for her bestie’s little brother may just run a little bit deeper than just friends. But if she can’t run, she’ll try every trick in the book to shake off his affection and realign his feelings.

She already had her perfect moment, and there is no chance she’ll let her heart thaw for Preston. No matter how good he looks in the firefighter’s Christmas calendar.

officialreviewI wonder why there’s an issue about dating a best friend’s brother or sister. Frankly, if that had happened to me, I’d be more willing to trust my best friend’s family than to let some strangers court my sisters or make a pass on my brother. Because it means I personally know the qualities and personality of my best friend’s sibs so it’s fine with me if he or she would fall for any of my siblings. But that’s just me.

Here in A Perfect Moment, I’d like to think that I resemble Jo as a caring sister who didn’t make an issue about her brother’s feelings for her best friend. The female main character, Ella, got that perfect moment to catch her fiance doing the deeds with his ex-lover. Huh, lots of guys seems to be doing that lately (on the books I read, not IRL). She steered clear of guys after that, but life seemed to be playing tricks on her, because on the night of her bestfriend’s wedding, she got a kiss from Jo’s brother, Preston, and boy, what a mind-blowing kiss that was!

Soon, Ella realized Jo’s baby bro was no longer a baby after all. In fact, he had grown muscles and biceps so taut and delicious that made her mouth water and drool. Oh, yes, Preston wasn’t so little anymore! They got a cat-and-mouse relationship while growing up, but now, the cat turned meek while the mouse got big. She wanted to trust Preston with all hear heart, but she couldn’t. Not when she thought that she was older than him, and he was her best friend’s little bro.

The perfect moment for them came when a renegade fire fighter stirred hot feelings for Ella and emotionally lit fire in Preston’s life. After getting accused of arson, Preston vowed to protect Ella against Ben and swore to find out the truth, even if it resulted to them hanging on to their dear lives.

And I swear, I wasn’t able to put this book down, even when my Kindle device threatened to go dead on me. You’d think this was just like any other love story where the bro chased his sister’s BFF until she ultimately fell for him. I thought that was the case, too. But I was so wrong, because there’s more than their relationship. There were the Calendar boys crawling their way to my heart. There were the steamy scenes that got me hot and bothered and dizzy. There was that broken man who sought revenge and didn’t stop until Preston was killed. The suspense was killing me. The action was almost palpable, I thought I was in the actual story. It had me wide-eyed while imagining the death-defying scenes that the characters had been through, not just once, but twice!

And then there was also Jo and her husband Liam and their honeymoon and the aftermath. Oh my, if I could only tell you how Jo had me laughing aloud! Poor Liam and his trophy. Uh-oh.

And believe me, I cursed my Kindle apps and devices a million times whenever I got low-battery alert while reading this book. I had to rush to my room to get all my battery/cellphone chargers to make sure my reading would be interrupted. Yep, that’s how engrossed I’ve been with this Becca Lee novel. I can’t believe this is the first time I read her book. I need to catch up with all her stories from now on.

P.S.

I want to live in Australia real soon. This story features hot babes and bods in surfboards. And sexy half-naked firefighters. What’s not to love?

My Rating: 

5cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

