4 stars · book reviews

Review: Maybe This Time by CP Santi

MaybeThisTimeMaybe This Time: Stories of Love and Second Chances
Author: C. P. Santi
Genre: Contemporary romance / Short stories

An accidental reunion . . . a sneaky plot . . . things finally falling into place.

Maybe This Time contains three heart-warming stories of love and second chances. Because when fate gives you a break, you grab the chance to finally make things right.

In Sweeter by the Second, when paintings conservator Rina David arrives for the Arts Festival in the heritage town of Jimenez, she’s reunited with Tony, the guy she once loved and lost. Now vice-mayor of Jimenez, Tony wants Rina back in his life and will do everything he can to convince her that they belong together.

Pamela Quiroz hatches a plot to get her parents back together in Exorcising my Ex. But will a romantic Valentine’s Day dinner succeed in reconciling Geno and Viv? After all, it’s been more than fifteen years since they first got together and they aren’t the hormone-driven teenagers they once were. Will wine and cheese balls still do the trick?

Torch, meet hand. Arne Weichmann has been waiting twenty-one years for Bea. Is it finally the right time to make his move and convince her that they are Meant to Be? He hopes so. Because he doesn’t think he’ll survive losing the one person who brought warmth and sunshine to his life.

officialreviewFinding love that was lost. Moving on but never really moving forward. Holding back while secretly holding on. This is how I summed up the three short stories from CP Santi’s Maybe This Time: Stories of Love and Second Chances. I can’t help but feel the love that Rina & Tony had endured after their breakup, take another chance with Geno and Viv, and finally succumbing to their feelings with Arne and Bea.

mttcpsanti

It’s always nice to read books that feature places in the Philippines. I get to learn more about them without having to travel with a backpack. Such is the beauty of Jimenez, as introduced and beautifully depicted in Sweeter by The Second. Add two old lovers who met again after how many years. Tony has proven that he’s matured enough to realize that Rina’s happiness is also his happiness, and that’s what made him ideal for me.

For the second story, Exorcising My Ex, let me sum it up with these hashtags: #Valentines #BlindDateSetup #sPammy #CollegeSweethearts #Cheeseballs #Aldub

Yep these are mostly the words that stuck to my mind after reading about Pam’s VDay setup for her mom and dad. Yep, hashtags, the bane of my existence, LOL. I don’t really use hashtags on my tweets or posts, but with the existence of Aldub in the book, I couldn’t help it. Yep, #Aldub is featured in this book, ladies and gents, the reason why Twitter exploded a million times last year..

Anyway, enough of the hashtags. Exorcising My Ex is about the right love at the wrong time. Geno and Viv never married but they got a lovechild together and they realized their mistakes during a Valentine date setup by their daughter, Pam. I think this was my favorite story from the book. I love the feeling of seeing Geno and Viv bonding in front of the TV like the happy couple they should have been.

Okay, enough of them, or I might just spill the beans about the whole book. Onto the next…

World Youth Day 1995 brought me a lot of memories from high school. I had attended WYD with my choir mates and met new friends from other countries too, that’s why the last story in the book, Meant To Be, is special to me. It took Arne Weichmann twenty one long years to finally act upon his feelings for the then 12 year old ball of sunshine named Bea. Twenty one years! Imagine that.

I, for one, do not have that patience, and two, I could never suppress that feeling for a long time especially when my significant other is on the other side of the globe. But Arne was different. He made me swoon for him instantly the moment he laid eyes on Bea, I thought that was magical, from complete strangers to being family friends, to best friends to lovers. I guess they were really meant to be.

I appreciate the ramblings made by CP Santi at the end of her anthology. She explained how the short stories came into fruition and how Maybe This Time was inspired by a song. The night I finished reading this book, I had a really good night sleep. Hoping to read more from Santi again, soon!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

