Review: Oleah Chronicles 2 – JUSTICE by Michelle Johnson

image

Oleah Chronicles 2: JUSTICE
By Michelle Johnson

officialsynopAfter discovering the truth about her Oleah origins, Angel thought she could still have a normal life, consisting of normal things – like her seventeenth birthday party. But there is no such thing as normal for Angel anymore. She learned that the hard way after Sindrell – the most powerful sorceress in the universe – crashed her party, destroyed the city, and took her best friend, Julie, captive. Determined to defeat Sindrell for good, Angel must risk her life, along with the fate of the entire universe to get Julie back…alive. The only way she can do this successfully, is to embrace her Oleah instincts and learn what it takes to become a true warrior.

Problem is, Sindrell has an insurance policy of her own that will put millions of lives in danger – including Zander’s – to ensure her quest for power is brought to fruition. One way or another. In order to protect Zander, and save Julie, Angel has to make a choice… but will it be the right one?

officialreview

Angel was still reeling from the events that happened to her from the last book. She was still coming to terms with the knowledge that she’s an Oleah from another world, Uforika. She was just a normal girl excited to spend her birthday when all hell broke lose and her bestfriend Julie was taken captive by demons. Suddenly she was a Princess and a half-human/half lion at that, and soon she had to make a decision between saving the world or saving her best friend.

I loved the new and more powerful Angel in this second book. She’s proven to be quite the friend, warrior, princess and Oleah all rolled into one. I admire her determination to save Julie, but I don’t think Julie needed saving anyway. It was understandable that Julie had been brainwashed by Sindrell that’s why she had turned into a snarky, sarcastic, infuriating bitch who had put Angel into a lot of pain. But over the course of the book, I became more annoyed at her until the end.

justice

Speaking of the end, oh gosh, what a blood-boiling story this book turned out to be! I thought I also had this lion instinct and personally inside of me, waiting to be released. I growled when Angel saw what happened to her loved one, it was really sickening and heart wrenching. Angel versus Demon, literally.

Oh wait, I think I was forgetting something? Yes, Zander. Alexander Laurence Black was also back and I think I liked him even better now. He was quite goofy and sweet with Angel and their bond had grown stronger after all they’d been through. I wouldn’t mind meeting Zander in another parallel world.

Overall, this had been a nice installment. Although I must admit, I liked the first book better. Justice (Oleah Chronicles Book 2) is exciting, that’s true. But I was left wanting for more; I thought there wasn’t much action and interactions. That there was something missing, like consistency aa and I dunno…something else felt quite abrupt. I would have loved to know and see more of the planet Urofika, too, plus the people inhabiting it, more about Coral and Angel’s parents and would have loved to see more of Angel and Zander together. But I think that’s okay because it clearly shows that the next book is going to be another rousing battle between the good and the evil, the angel versus the demon, from best of friends to sworn worse enemies.

My Rating: 

3.5cups

officialClaire

 

Leave a Reply

