Review: Alora: The Portal by Tamie Dearen


aloraAlora: The Portal (Alora #2)

by Tamie Dearen

officialsynopIf one of them dies, they both die. Bound together as soulmates, something compels Alora and Kaevin to abandon the safety of their refuge for the dangers of Kaevin’s realm. The soulmates arrive in the midst of a raging battle as Stone Clan warriors defend their capital, an attack made more deadly by the pervasive evil of her father. Alora and Kaevin face mortal danger as they fight against man and magick to preserve Kaevin’s home and heritage. For Alora’s father will have her allegiance. Or her death.

 

officialreviewVindrake is at it again. And he vows to do everything he can to enter our world, wreak
havoc, exploit our riches and weapons and furthermore terrorize and tyrannize
modern Earth. And the people who could put a stop to this is his own daughter Alora
and her soulmate, Kaevin.

Imagine jumping from one modernized world (Montana, USA) to another fantasy
land – Tenavae/ Laegenshire – to a realm that was decades past, civilization was stillborn, and humans have powers of fire, sun, forest, water, air and stone. Add two lovers who are kissing every five minutes to make sure they live… or else, they die.. Seriously. Plus a human uncle whose every word sends me laughing and giggling and wishing for a better world, whenever her niece is concerned.

I think Alora and Kaevin are good for each other, not because they’re soulmates, but because they are united as one especially when the other is in danger. I love the other characters who bring color and laughter to their treacherous adventures. Beth, Jireo, Wesley, even Graely to name a few.

Overall, Tamie Dearen not only excites me with her story. The Portal is indeed the door that takes me beyond this world and makes me wish to stay a little longer and be captivated by the beauty and dangers it has to offer. Can’t wait to see what happens next to Vindrake’s power, Alora’s gift and… the runaways…

P.S. Can I have a little of Kaevin even for just a day, please?

IMG_3286

“Aren’t you glad I’m not projecting my pain anymore?”

“I am. Yet I’d rather feel your pain than be shut out of your heart. The assurance of
your love is worth any agony I must endure.”

“You don’t need my gift to know I love you. I tell you everyday, now.”

“It’s not the same as feeling it.”

Hiseyes closed, and his mouth went slack. He let out a moan of bliss. “For a taste of
that each day, I’ll endure any pain that comes my way.”

My Rating:Β 

4cups

officialClaire

Leave a Reply

