Review: The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You by Lily Anderson

tonwtmiyThe Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You
A Novel by Lily Anderson

officialsynopTrixie Watson has two very important goals for senior year: to finally save enough to buy the set of Doctor Who figurines at the local comic books store, and to place third in her class and knock Ben West–and his horrendous new mustache that he spent all summer growing–down to number four.

Trixie will do anything to get her name ranked over Ben’s, including give up sleep and comic books–well, maybe not comic books–but definitely sleep. After all, the war of Watson v. West is as vicious as the Doctor v. Daleks and Browncoats v. Alliance combined, and it goes all the way back to the infamous monkey bars incident in the first grade. Over a decade later, it’s time to declare a champion once and for all.

The war is Trixie’s for the winning, until her best friend starts dating Ben’s best friend and the two are unceremoniously dumped together and told to play nice. Finding common ground is odious and tooth-pullingly-painful, but Trixie and Ben’s cautious truce slowly transforms into a fandom-based tentative friendship. When Trixie’s best friend gets expelled for cheating and Trixie cries foul play, however, they have to choose who to believe and which side they’re on–and they might not pick the same side.

officialreviewTrixie Watson will do whatever it takes to make sure she gets Ben West dethroned from the third spot in their senior year ranking.For her, she deserves the number three rank, right after her two friends who are at the number 1&2 spots respectively. Her annoyance with Ben has been going on for ten years, and it’s now time to make him pay. Forget about sleep. What matters is Ben gets down and she takes the cake.

“I’d like to keep my salad down and West’s insults have been superlame today. I think the mustache might be draining his intellect. Which is useful because I am going to take the number three spot before the end of the year.”

Meg’s face contorted in disgust. “That’s your big plan for senior year? You want to be number three?”

“Well, I can’t beat Harper or her future husband without giving up sleeping and eating and comics. So yeah, I’ll settle for being number three. I’ll get a cake shaped like a four and shove it in Ben West’s stupid hairy face after he walks across the stage at graduation. And then I’ll rip off my cap and gown, revealing a red leather jacket and black skinny jeans and moonwalk all the way home.”

After growing his handlebar mustache over the summer, Ben receives insults from Trixie whenever their paths meet. Until Ben’s bestfriend Cornell starts dating Trixie’s BFF Harper. Until they had no choice but to spend more time with each other… and possibly kiss in secret places? Like the study room, or in the supply closet room maybe? Until a cheating scandal rocks Messina Academy (The School for the Gifted and Geniuses) and their friends get tangled up in a messy “expulsive” situation.

I super enjoyed this story. It brings me back memories of my high school days when I was competing with a friend for the top spot during our senior year, but never got the chance to beat her. LOL

Anyway, I love Trixie’s character because she’s feisty and weird and loves Game of Thrones. And I love her friends Harper and Meg because they love Supernatural and the Winchester brothers. Plus Buffy is their favorite super herione. Yay! Lame, I know, but hey, I love them too!

With geniuses Trixie and Ben and their Watson vs West battle, I couldn’t help but laugh out loud with their attempts to outdo each other. Their throwing of snide remarks, brain-exploding banters and sarcastic comments made my day. And when one of their friends, Meg formulated The Thought Experiment, I got high from Ben’s romantic side.

“I would have offered to be your ride. If, in this time line, I was a decent driver who wouldn’t possibly maim you. At least I would have gotten to sped more than five seconds with you.”

“You left so fast, I didn’t even get to tell you that you look beautiful. In the alternate timeline, I would have monologued about that.”

“You’re perfect,” he stammered. His eyes flickered up to mine and held. “Don’t ever stop being you.”

“I’m just school and comics, too,” I blurted. I don’t know how to be anything else.”

“Don’t be anything else. Just be Trixie.”

See? He’s not such a bad guy after all, even though he fights Trixie a lot. But I was too frakking happy to care. Ha ha. Although their fascination with Marvel characters kinda made me roll my eyes.. I’m a big DC/Justice League fan, so yeah, I might as well join their debates after all.

This book is light and fast paced, never a dull moment when these Doctor Who fanatics are concerned. I even want to be included in their fandom. But all the major props and kudos belong to Lily Anderson, who crafted a story not only cute and bubbly, but also profound and relatable. I swear, I couldn’t put this book down. It’s like it’s always been attached to me and I couldn’t let go, for fear that I might miss something Trixie or Ben would do. The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You is inspired by Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing with a lot of twists and turns and comic books too. This a highly recommended read, and the worse thing that you could do is when you decline to read this. ‘Nuff said.

P.S.
I got this book from St. Martin Griffin via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

My Rating:

5cups

officialClaire

2 thoughts on “Review: The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You by Lily Anderson

Leave a Reply

