Review: Majesty by Jay E. Tria

majestyMajesty 
by Jay E. Tria

officialsynopWhat would you do if the ghost of someone you love appeared in front of you?

Majesty is a beautiful ghost, with her hair of fire and eyes gray like smoke. That is Andy Fey’s first thought when the ghost of her best friend Majesty Hall appeared in her bedroom, only two months since her death. Majesty doesn’t know why she’s there, why only Andy can see her.

Andy isn’t sure if she should tell Gale, that boy who claims that he and Majesty were in love. Funny, sarcastic, and a self-proclaimed serial heartbreaker, Gale is proving to be a good friend in grief, though his trail of broken hearts could soon include hers.

As Andy and Gale wade through their sorrow, Andy wonders if Majesty is here to help ease her into this new, complicated friendship, or if she has a mission all her own.

officialreviewAndy or Andrea Fey had a list of people in her Yay and Nay boxes respectively, and she made sure she steered clear of those whom she couldn’t be friends with. But when Professor Grayson assigned her to Majesty Hall as her Statistics partner, she didn’t know where to place her.

Majesty is the kind of girl who wanted to please everybody, to befriend everyone, who was always bubbly and talked in a singsong manner. When Andrea got to know her, it was only a matter of time before she realized she had made her her friend for life and beyond.

And the next time she saw Majesty again, two months after her funeral, she wouldn’t want to let go.

My friends know me as a crybaby; soap-operas and sappy romance stories easily make me cry. Even a picture of two old graying couple spoon-feeding each other make me sniff. What more if I read a story about two friends who never let go of each other even after death?

Ahh, the tears rolling down from my eyes were uncontrollable, they were like they had a mind of their own. When Andy learned about Majesty Hall’s sickness, I felt something lodged in my throat. When Majesty had to skip classes to undergo treatments, I had rocks in my stomach. When Andy heard the news about Majesty’s cure, my heart leaped. And when Majesty met her demise, I was dumbfounded. But when Andy met Gale in Majesty’s funeral, hope smiled through my soul.

I thought I was Andrea herself and I was the one shocked after seeing her beautiful and ethereal ghostly figure. I reminded myself that Majesty wasn’t my father who had succumbed to cancer. I told myself, Majesty’s ghost appearing in front of me is a reminder that there is indeed life after death and there’s a reason for everything.

maj

I know this review is becoming more of a cry-fest, so forgive me for being a sentimental fool. But if you look beyond the waterworks, we’ll all realize that there’s a Majesty in our lives, whether living nor a ghost, who reminds us about the value of life, taking chances, chasing dreams, exposing your feelings and fueling your desire to live and love. I may not be a profiler like Andy, but I felt the emotions she’s kept tucked inside her heart, wishing I could also love more than less. The grief she’d been through, as well as Gale and the Halls, was something we have to encounter and experience in order to let go.

Despite the tears I’ve shed, this book, Majesty, isn’t really a total tearjerker. It’s more of a journey to new beginning, a stage that will help you cope and look at the world in a new light.

Jay E. Tria is a talented author, a wonderful storyteller and a bit of a heart-breaker and a tear-jerker. Yes, she caused my eyes to tear up, caused my heart to break into pieces and lulled me to sleep after Gale and Andrea found each other again. Majesty is beautiful. Go figure.

My Rating: 

5cups

officialClaire

7 thoughts on “Review: Majesty by Jay E. Tria

Leave a Reply

