4 stars · book reviews · mystery

Review: Clouds in My Coffee by Julie Mulhern

cimc

Clouds in my Coffee

(The Country Club Murders #3)
by Julie Mulhern

officialsynopWhen Ellison Russell is nearly killed at a benefactors’ party, she brushes the incident aside as an unhappy accident. But when her house is fire-bombed, she’s shot at, and the person sitting next to her at a gala is poisoned, she must face facts. Someone wants her dead. But why? And can Ellison find the killer before he strikes again?

Add in an estranged sister, a visiting aunt with a shocking secret, and a handsome detective staying in her guesthouse, and Ellison might need more than cream in her coffee…

 

officialreview

Ellison Russel’s back, and inasmuch as she no longer wants to see dead bodies nearby, it seemed like Death continued to stalk her. After her sister and aunt’s surprise visit in her home, she was almost killed in a benefactor’s party, her house almost burned down, and someone shot at her with a gun. Oh and the next day, her seatmate at a gala party was poisoned from the glass of water that she herself was supposed to sip. Could it just be coincidence? Was she really the target? Or Is this an act of revenge?
Luckily, hottie Detective Anarchy Jones got her back again. But it seemed little sister Marjorie also got her eyes on him. And among other men. Aunt Sis, on the other hand, looked like she’s got a hidden agenda for her visit. One death threat after another, Ellison’s mother was annoyed by all this hullabaloo. She couldn’t even take sympathy on her poor daughter’s life and death situation. How cruel!

Clouds in My Coffee, like the first two books (A Deep End and Guaranteed To Bleed) managed to exercise my brain to come up with all the plausible solutions and possible suspects in a murder investigation. Set in the 1970s where rotary phones were the highlight of communication, this book gives me that funky cool vibes of dating and simple urban life, without the hassles and bustle of high-end technology.

The characters were fun to read, especially Ellison’s and Anarchy Jones. You could feel their chemistry, the spark, the unmistakable attraction between these two, but no one acted on their feelings. And I quite like it, because it made their relationship more mysterious and baffling

The murder / death threats were equally mystifying. I had three suspects in my head, none of which were deemed correct in the end. I loved that the mystery was unpredictable and highly anticipated. Julie Mulhern did a great job keeping her readers engaged and engrossed. Clouds in my Coffee deserves my 4 coffee-cup rating!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Clouds in My Coffee by Julie Mulhern

  1. I had seen the first book around a while before I tried it, but everyone seemed to love it, so I thought “why not?” And I couldn’t stop reading it! Then the second one, too. So now I have this book on Pippa, my Kindle…waiting, but not for long.

    The characters, especially Ellison, remind me of a time when things were simpler…like the phones and the absence of social media. Fun! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

