Review: FOREVER by Maggie Stiefvater

forever

Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3)
by Maggie Stiefvater 

officialsynopthen.
When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their loved moved from curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.

now.
That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be killed in one final, spectacular hunt.

forever.
Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future are about to collide in one pure moment–a moment of death or life, farewell or forever.

officialreviewFor some reason, I was kind of saddened by the turn of events in Forever. It felt like was like riding on a see-saw where at one time, I loved getting exhilarated with being up and high with emotions, and then eventually disheartened as the story went down.

The first book in The Wolves of Mercy Falls series, Shiver, really impressed me, but now that I finished the last book, I thought the story should have stopped with Linger. Sam and Grace’s transformation were the highlight of the series and the addition of Isabel and Cole added flavor to the story. But Forever suddenly left a bland taste on my mouth. I couldn’t exactly tell where I stopped reading, analyzing and understanding the situation, simply because it became too claustrophobic for me.

I get it, Sam and Grace only had eyes for each other and couldn’t even get their hands off one another. I get that, I know how it felt. And then she transformed and hadn’t seen the love of her life for how many months. If that happened to me, I should have been looking for Sam first thing first. Not with Grace’s though. What irked me was how she turned into an amnesiac and forgot all about Sam. Kinda anti-climactic, if you ask me. Reminds me a lot of all those telenovelas or soap operas where the main character suddenly lost all her memories when the emotions were already high and running.

4ever

And then the ending. A lot of questions bombarded my brain after reading this. What happened to Grace’s parents in the end? What was that all about Sam shrugging off and disregarding the reasons why and how he was transformed, when all his life he had been angry about it in the first place? And then that thing that happened to Cole! WTF? I seriously felt my throat constricted with Cole’s mishaps but to end it like that? Gosh, there was really a big chunk of something missing in the story and I demand to have it rewritten.

I don’t want to end this with a crappy rating. But I couldn’t continue giving the series 4 stars (which I did to the first two books) when the last one left me feeling deceived, cheated, betrayed. I hope I won’t have to feel like this deflated again when I start with the Raven Cycle soon.

My Rating: 

2cups

officialClaire

 

Leave a Reply

