Review: Linger (Wolves of Mercy Falls 2)

lingerLinger by Maggie Stiefvater
(The Wolves of Mercy Falls 2)
Published July 2010

 

officialsynop

the longing.

Once Grace and Sam have found each other, they know they must fight to stay together. For Sam, this means a reckoning with his werewolf past. For Grace, it means facing a future that is less and less certain.

the loss.

Into their world comes a new wolf named Cole, whose past is full of hurt and danger. He is wrestling with his own demons, embracing the life of a wolf while denying the ties of being a human.

the linger.

For Grace, Sam, and Cole, life a constant struggle between two forces–wolf and human–with love baring its two sides as well. It is harrowing and euphoric, freeing and entrapping, enticing and alarming. As their world falls apart, love is what lingers. But will it be enough?

.

officialreviewLinger continues in the same format as Shiver, with alternating character points of view for each chapter. Add two new characters in the scene (Isabel & Cole) and you got one hell of a story.

While I found Sam an extremely emo-type person, ubér sensitive at his finest, I somehow embraced his love for Grace and his ultimate mission of saving her from two possible circumstances – wolf or death. There’s something inexplicable happening to Grace – having chills, high fever, etc. Add her superficial parents who suddenly turned over-protective when they caught Sam in Grace’s room (after years and years of ignoring their daughter, sheesh!). I was really and actually intrigued with Grace’s condition and I had this need to know what would become of Grace and couldn’t put the book down until I found out! Whew! That’s all I could say about Sam & Grace’s ala-Romeo & Juliet love affair!

linger2

With Cole & Isabel’s story, I understood more about pretty Isabel Culpeper’s character and learned about her indifference with other people. Cole St. Clair surely made her come out of her true colors and their intense feeling for each other made their chemistry great and exciting. I really enjoyed the addition of Cole St. Clair’s bad boy rocker character as he adds a third dimension and a partner for Isabel. Unfortunately, the wolves are in danger from a hunter and the third book should be dealing with that problem as well as whether or not Sam and Grace can find a cure.

Surprisingly, I loved the way Maggie Stiefvater gives each character an individual and definitely “their own” voice in this book. I thought I might get lost in the process, but no. Isabel proved to be quite a lady, I must say.  Looking forward to the next book – Forever!

My Rating: 

4cups

officialClaire

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Linger (Wolves of Mercy Falls 2)

  1. Lovely review! I read Shiver ages ago and even though I now have the rest of the trilogy I’ve just never got around to reading the other two books. Your review of Linger has reminded me of how much I enjoyed Shiver and I definitely want to finish the series now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

